Biological and Environmental Sciences staff directory

Staff contact details
Column one lists names, column two lists roles, column three provides email addresses
NameRoleEmail
Head    
Prof Kirsty Park Conservation Ecology k.j.park@stir.ac.uk
Professors    
Prof Katharine Abernethy Tropical Ecology k.a.abernethy@stir.ac.uk
Prof Nils Bunnefeld Conservation Science nils.bunnefeld@stir.ac.uk
Prof David Copplestone Environmental Radioactivity david.copplestone@stir.ac.uk
Prof Alistair Jump Plant Ecology / Dean of Faculty of Natural Sciences a.s.jump@stir.ac.uk
Prof Richard Quilliam Environmental Biology richard.quilliam@stir.ac.uk
Prof Jens-Arne Subke Terrestrial Ecosystems and Environment Change jens-arne.subke@stir.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Tyler Environmental Science / Deputy Dean of Faculty a.n.tyler@stir.ac.uk
Prof Nigel Willby Aquatic Ecology n.j.willby@stir.ac.uk
Prof Phil Wookey Ecosystem Science philip.wookey1@stir.ac.uk
Professorial Fellow
Prof Tim Whalley Cell Biology t.d.whalley@stir.ac.uk
Professors Emeritus
Prof Donald Davidson Soil Science d.a.davidson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Grant Reid Plant Biochemistry  
Prof Michael Thomas Tropical and Applied Geomorphology m.f.thomas@stir.ac.uk
Associate Professors
Dr Sabine Matallana-Surget Applied Biological Sciences sabine.matallanasurget@stir.ac.uk
Dr David Oliver Catchment Science david.oliver@stir.ac.uk
Dr Evangelos Spyrakos Earth Observation evangelos.spyrakos@stir.ac.uk
Senior Lecturers
Dr Jennifer Dickie Energy Geography j.a.dickie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Elisa Fuentes-Montemayor Conservation Ecology elisa.fuentes-montemayor@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andre Gilburn Ecology andre.gilburn@stir.ac.uk
Dr Peter Hunter Earth Observation p.d.hunter@stir.ac.uk
Dr Heather Price Environmental Science & Geography heather.price@stir.ac.uk
Dr Christian Schröder Environmental Science and Planetary Exploration christian.schroeder@stir.ac.uk
Dr Armando Marino Earth Observation armando.marino@stir.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Tinsley Evolutionary Ecology matthew.tinsley@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Wilson Soil Science c.a.wilson@stir.ac.uk
Lecturers
Dr Stuart Auld Evolutionary Ecology  ska1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Bird Molecular Cell Biology clare.bird2@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tom Bradwell Quaternary Geologist tom.bradwell@stir.ac.uk
Dr Colin Bull River Science c.d.bull@stir.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Chapman Ecology Modelling daniel.chapman@stir.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Clarke Conservation & Environmental Management joanna.clarke@stir.ac.uk
Dr Brad Duthie Environmental Modelling alexander.duthie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Verity Flower Remote Sensing verity.flower@stir.ac.uk
Dr Francois-Xavier Joly Soil Ecology francois-xavier.joly1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Ian Jones Environmental Sensing ian.jones@stir.ac.uk
Dr Alan Law Ecology alan.law1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jenson Lim Applied Biological Sciences jenson.lim@stir.ac.uk
Dr Carlos Loureiro Physical Geography carlos.loureiro@stir.ac.uk
Dr Martina Quaggiotto Ecology & Conservation martina.quaggiotto@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tony Robertson Geographies of Public Health tony.robertson@stir.ac.uk
Dr Thiago Silva Environmental Informatics thiago.sf.silva@stir.ac.uk
Dr Zeinab Smillie Environmental Science & Geography zeinab.smillie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Eileen Tisdall Environmental Science e.w.tisdall@stir.ac.uk
Research Staff
Dr Tom Bradfer-Lawrence Post-doctoral Research Assistant tom.bradfer-lawrence@stir.ac.uk
Mr Liam Dillon Research Assistant liam.dillon@stir.ac.uk
Dr Kathryn Jeffery Researcher kathryn.jeffery@stir.ac.uk
Dr Danielle MacKenzie Post-doctoral Research Assistant danielle.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Rosie Mangan Post-doctoral Research Assistant rosie.mangan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Carmen Rosa Medina-Carmona Post-doctoral Research Assistan carmen.rosa.medina-carmona@stir.ac.uk
Dr Adam Varley Research Assistant a.l.varley@stir.ac.uk
Research Fellows
Dr Ayorinde Akinbobola Post Doctoral Research Fellow ayorinde.akinbobola@stir.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Boulton Research Fellow rebeccaboulton87@googlemail.com
Dr Edward Bower Research Fellow edward.bower@stir.ac.uk
Dr Irena Connon Research Fellow irena.connon@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jérémy Froidevaux Leverhulme Research Fellow jeremy.froidevaux@stir.ac.uk
Dr Garima Gupta Post Doctoral Research Fellow garima.gupta@stir.ac.uk
Dr Isla Hodgson Research Fellow isla.hodgson@stir.ac.uk
Mr Deryck Irving Senior Innovation Fellow (Hydro Nation) deryck.irving@stir.ac.uk
Mr Dalin Jiang Research Fellow dalin.jiang@stir.ac.uk
Dr Isabel Jones Senior Research Fellow i.l.jones@stir.ac.uk
Dr Chris Littleboy Research Fellow chris.littleboy@stir.ac.uk
Dr Veloisa Mascarenhas Research Fellow veloisa.mascarenhas@stir.ac.uk
Dr Constantinos Matsoukis Hydrodynamic Modeller constantinos.matsoukis@stir.ac.uk
Dr Emily Waddell Research Fellow emily.waddell@stir.ac.uk
Administration
Miss Jenny Abercrombie Student Experience Administrator jenny.abercrombie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Millar Programme Manager (Hydro Nation Chair) fiona.millar1@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Jessica Murray Faculty PGR Administrator jessica.caie@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Joan Turner Undergraduate Studies Officer joan.colston@stir.ac.uk
Miss Lynn MacGregor Student Experience Manager lynn.macgregor@stir.ac.uk
Technical Support
Mr Allan Audsley GIS Technical Specialist allan.audsley1@stir.ac.uk
Mr Ronald Balfour Senior Technical Specialist (Stores/Procurement) r.e.balfour@stir.ac.uk
Mr Ross Barnett Field Technician (Ecological Restoration) r.j.barnett@stir.ac.uk
Mr Matthew Blake  Senior Technical Specialist (Earth Observation) matthew.blake@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Lorna English Senior Technical Specialist (Biogeo) l.c.english@stir.ac.uk
Mr Ian Fitzpatrick Assistant Technical Specialist (Stores) ian.fitzpatrick1@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Sylvia Hodgson Senior Technical Specialist s.d.hodgson@stir.ac.uk
Mr Scott Jackson Senior Technical Specialist (IT) Scott Jackson
Ms Pauline Monteith Senior Technical Specialist p.m.monteith@stir.ac.uk
Mr Peter Smith Technical Specialist (Field Work) peter.smith@stir.ac.uk
Mr Ian Washbourne Senior Technical Specialist (Biogeo) ian.washbourne@stir.ac.uk
Mr James Weir Lead Technical Specialist (ITMEStores) j.n.weir@stir.ac.uk
Research Students
Emmanuel Afolabi Quantifying the risk of wildlife contributions to diffuse microbial pollution in agricultural catchments e.o.afolabi@stir.ac.uk
Ximena Aguilar Vega Unravelling carbon properties and fluxes in glaciomarine systems x.a.aguilar.vega@stir.ac.uk
Heather Anderson Reconciling scientific and non-scientific safe water realities: Case studies from the global North and global South h.k.anderson@stir.ac.uk
Daniel Atton Beckmann Using satellite remote sensing and automated in-situ sensors to monitor and predict cyanobacterial blooms in multiple lakes daniel.atton.beckmann@stir.ac.uk
Olivia Azevedo Above and belowground ecological linkages in temperate forest soils olivia.azevedo@stir.ac.uk
Adrian Bach Using complex modelling to improve decision-making in conservation conflicts adrian.bach@stir.ac.uk
Johnson Bailey Quad polarimetric analysis of icebergs johnson.bailey@stir.ac.uk
Joshua Bauld An examination of spatial and dietary differences between male and female mandrills (Mandrillus sphinx), using GPS collars and stable isotope analysis j.t.bauld@stir.ac.uk
Hazel Blake Conserving World Heritage in climate change(d) futures: Mediating precipitation impacts through innovative soils-based solutions h.j.ramage@stir.ac.uk
Emily Bonsall Preservation of organic matter by reactive iron species on Mars relevant to Mars Sample Return emily.bonsall@stir.ac.uk
Ponsarut Boonchuay Agricultural management and the conservation of insectivorous bat biodiversity in Southern Thailand: a comparison of land-sparing and land-sharing strategies ponsarut.boonchuay@stir.ac.uk
Natalie Boyd Williams The role of toilet-linked anaerobic digestion in creating sustainable rural futures n.a.boydwilliams@stir.ac.uk
David Bryan Integrated management of Scotland’s agricultural wetlands to deliver multiple benefits and minimise pollution swapping david.bryan@stir.ac.uk
Jessica Burrows Assessing the impact of radiation exposure on bumblebees in the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone j.e.burrows@stir.ac.uk
Sydney Byrns The application of systems thinking approaches to governance of the water sector in sub-Saharan Africa s.c.byrns@stir.ac.uk
Chisha Chongo Mzyece Monitoring and modelling for early warning of microbial pollution events c.c.mzyece@stir.ac.uk
Patrick Cook From farmland to wildland: an ecological journey patrick.cook@stir.ac.uk
Emilie Courtecuisse Fluorometry for Rapid Eutrophication Status and Cyanobacteria Assessment emilie.courtecuisse@stir.ac.uk
Lidia De Sousa Teixeira Integrating Geo-Chemistry and Sustainability in Angolan Agro-Systems l.p.deasousaateixeira1@stir.ac.uk
Andre Dhungana Delivering food from forests: integrating understanding across trees, fungi and soils to raise speciality crops in forest plantations a.g.dhungana@stir.ac.uk
Gavin Douglas Conservation Strategies for Archaeologically Excavated Structures in the North of Scotland in a Climate Change Future g.b.douglas1@stir.ac.uk
Callum Dunleavy Can rewilding reverse freshwater biodiversity loss? callum.dunleavy@stir.ac.uk
Alex Elsy How do liana and tree communities vary over secondary succession? a.d.elsy@stir.ac.uk
Ebenezer Essien Understanding the physiological wear- and- tear using and intersectionality lens ebenezer.essien1@stir.ac.uk
Adam Fell Navigating fragmented tropical landscapes; understanding how forest fragmentation affects frugivore behaviour adam.fell@stir.ac.uk
Francesc Ferrando Molina Development and optimisation of novel inoculants for grain legumes francesc.ferrandomolina1@stir.ac.uk
Jonathan Fletcher Optimising multi-pollutant phytoremediation strategies to sustainably improve raw water quality jonathan.fletcher@stir.ac.uk
Jodie Geldard Surge Forth: Understanding glacier dynamics where the Scottish Highlands meet the Lowlands jodie.geldard@stir.ac.uk
Augustin Géron Light/dark cycle of surface marine picoplankton communities a.f.geron@stir.ac.uk
Megan Grace Exposure potential of rural versus urban inland waters for equitably improving population health and wellbeing m.j.grace@stir.ac.uk
Mia Graham The evolution of pathogen defence in insect hosts: whitefly resistance to biocontrol agents in horticulture mia.graham@stir.ac.uk
Louisa Habermann Understanding Soil Fertility Legacies in Coigach Assynt louisa.habermann1@stir.ac.uk
Robin Hayward Tree community recovery following selective logging of a tropical rain forest r.m.hayward1@stir.ac.uk
Nicola Horsburgh Future proofing Scotland’s remote coastal areas: evaluation of the potential for nature-based coastal adaptation nicola.horsburgh@stir.ac.uk
Elliot Hurst Constructed Wetlands and Waterscapes in Rural India and Scotland e.j.hurst@stir.ac.uk
Felix Kasti Isundwa Detecting and monitoring floods using satellite radar and drone data f.k.isundwa@stir.ac.uk
Celeste Kellock Source to Sea: Soil organic carbon transport from forested environments to coastal waters and sediments celeste.kellock@stir.ac.uk
Rochelle Kennedy Sustaining biodiversity through mixed farming systems rochelle.kennedy@stir.ac.uk
Charlie Kenny Seeing the wood for the trees: Is reforesting the Scottish Highlands a good way to sequester atmospheric carbon dioxide? c.e.kenny@stir.ac.uk
Eleri Kent Does woodland use by bats depend on landscape context? Implications for woodland creation schemes eleri.kent@stir.ac.uk
Paulo Manuel Kiala Embedding climate futures in spatial planning for agriculture The Angolan central highlands p.m.kiala1@stir.ac.uk
Charlotte Lee Invisible Threats to Oceans (InTO): assessing the combined toxicity effects of emerging anthropogenic pollutants on microbial communities charlotte.lee2@stir.ac.uk
Clément Lozano Combined effect of UV filters and solar radiation on heterotrophic marine bacteria clement.lozano@stir.ac.uk
Benjamin Marshall Assessing researcher degree of freedom to inform robustness of findings from movement ecology studies b.m.marshall@stir.ac.uk
Amy McCarron Air pollution and public health: exploring sustainable behavioural changes to reduce asthma sufferers’ exposure to fine particulate matter amy.mccarron@stir.ac.uk
David McCaughie Sandstone Heritage: Conservation in a Climate Change(d) Future d.c.mccaughie1@stir.ac.uk
Neil McDonald Getting to the Bottom of Ice Shelves neil.mcdonald@stir.ac.uk
Craig McDougall The role of inland waters in promoting improved health and well-being in communities across Scotland c.w.mcdougall@stir.ac.uk
Michael McGlade The Effects of Flooding and Physicochemical Parameter Changes Inducing Contaminant Remobilisation m.a.mcglade@stir.ac.uk
Conor McGlinchey Single and advanced ensemble algorithms for monitoring coastal waters from satellite data c.r.mcglinchey@stir.ac.uk
Corynne McGuire Assessing the hazard from radioactive particles in the environment corynne.mcguire@stir.ac.uk
Rose McKeon How does fluctuating selection affect pesticide effectiveness? c.r.mckeon@stir.ac.uk
Eilidh McNab How does large scale native woodland restoration affect biodiversity? e.m.mcnab1@stir.ac.uk
Timothy Meek Cultural and physical factors in the history and development of traditional external wall coatings in Scotland t.j.meek@stir.ac.uk 
Catherine Mercer Taking the escalator to extinction: Understanding the role of rapid forest expansion in driving hotspots of extinction risk for endemic species in Taiwan  catherine.mercer@stir.ac.uk 
Rebecca Metcalf Survival, persistence, and ecology of microbial pathogens on the surfaces of environmental plastic pollution rebecca.metcalf@stir.ac.uk
Douglas Moore The evolution and chemical ecology of buzz-pollinated plants and their pollinators c.d.moore@stir.ac.uk
Lucy Nevard The effect of floral morphology on plant-pollinator interactions in the buzz-pollinated flower lucy.nevard1@stir.ac.uk
Matthew Nuttall Sustainable decision making in dynamic landscapes supporting biodiversity and people in the Eastern Plains Landscape of Cambodia m.n.nuttall1@stir.ac.uk
Christopher Orbell Ecological connectivity between Gabon’s Protected Areas christopher.orbell@stir.ac.uk
Kirsten O'Sullivan Changing distribution and composition of sub-tropical montane forests in Taiwan kirsten.osullivan@stir.ac.uk
Tom Ovenden Assessing the resilience of UK forests to drought thomas.ovenden@stir.ac.uk
Georgina Page Assisting peatland restoration using satellite radar data  g.r.page@stir.ac.uk
Theo Pannetier Determinants of diversification t.s.pannetier@stir.ac.uk
Sam Paplauskas Predicting epidemic size and disease evolution in natural systems sam.paplauskas@stir.ac.uk
John Paterson Effects of Phenology Shifts on Pollination Networks j.h.paterson1@stir.ac.uk
Chloe Pow The persistance and transfer of human pathogens associated with plastic pollution in agriculture and food production systems c.j.pow@stir.ac.uk
Flora Rendell-Bhatti  Plastics and the Hidden Majority: Conservation Implications of a Threatened UK Freshwater Fish  f.a.rendell-bhatti@stir.ac.uk 
Jazz Rhoades  Climate change and species range margins: predicting forest resilience in the Mediterranean region  j.c.rhoades@stir.ac.uk 
Finlay Richardson Coelopids as a sustainable alternative to fish meal and oil f.b.richardson@stir.ac.uk
Sam Rogerson The impacts of long-term woodland creation on invertebrate communities sam.rogerson@stir.ac.uk
Bridget Rusk Using sensors, satellites and artificial intelligence to improve catchment-scale modelling and nowcasting of microbial risks to water quality bridget.rusk@stir.ac.uk
Nagendra Jaiganesh Sankara Narayanan A tale of two lagoons: Determining the drivers and trajectories of change for the Venice (Italy) and Razelm-Sinoe (Danube-Delta, Romania) lagoons through Earth observation and modelling nagendra.jaiganesh.sankara.narayanan@stir.ac.uk
Maud Siebers Improving forecasts of phytoplankton blooms using high frequency satellite observations maud.siebers@stir.ac.uk
Cristian Silva Perez Monitoring agricultural fields in South America with Synthetic Aperture Radar c.j.silva.perez@stir.ac.uk
Morgan Simpson  Can the microbial communities in the oceans help satellites to monitor micro-plastic pollution?  m.d.simpson@stir.ac.uk 
Nonglak Sopakayoung Does integrating global expertise and local tradition give sustainable forest management? An assessment of international agency project implementation in community forests in South-east Asia nonglak.sopakayoung@stir.ac.uk
Rachel Steenson  Dippers (Cinclus cinclus) as bioindicators of health and resilience of freshwater ecosystems in the face of complex ecological change  rachel.steenson1@stir.ac.uk 
Heather Stewart Ice streaming, ice sheet deglaciation, and substrate properties, North Sea Basin, UK h.a.stewart@stir.ac.uk
Erin Stoll Quantifying and predicting soil responses to rapid forest change in a tropical mountain region e.i.stoll1@stir.ac.uk
Kathleen Stosch Building resilience to respond to future environmental change across Scottish catchments kathleen.stosch@stir.ac.uk
Helen Taylor-Boyd Investigating Species Assemblages, Activity Levels and Feeding Ecology of Chiroptera Species in Anthropogenic Landscapes in Zambia h.l.taylorboyd1@stir.ac.uk
Sarah Watts Improving outcomes in montane woodland restoration s.h.watts@stir.ac.uk
Mortimer Werther  Improved retrieval of chlorophyll-a for highly absorbing inland waters  mortimer.werther@stir.ac.uk 
Kelsey Wilson Predicting cascading ecosystem effects of beavers on riparian vegetation and deer k.a.wilson@stir.ac.uk
Simeon Wilton Effects of Invasive Non-Native Species within ecological networks and consequences for ecosystem function s.j.wilton@stir.ac.uk
Mahtab Yaghouti Adaptation strategies against progressing anoxia in lakes mahtab.yaghouti@stir.ac.uk
Honorary Staff
Prof Geoffrey Codd (MBE, FRSE) Honorary Professor g.a.codd@stir.ac.uk
Dr Paul Dale Honorary Senior Lecturer pd13@stir.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Maisels Honorary Research Fellow fmaisels@wcs.org
Prof Chris Quine Honorary Professor chris.quine@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Caitlin Riddick Honorary Research Fellow caitlin.riddick1@stir.ac.uk
Prof Michael Usher Honorary Professor m.b.usher@stir.ac.uk
Prof Kevin Watts Honorary Senior Lecturer kevin.watts@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Lee White Honorary Professor Lwhite@parcsgabon.ga
Prof Jeremy Wilson Honorary Professor jeremy.wilson@rspb.org.uk