Biological and Environmental Sciences staff directory

Staff contact details
Column one lists names, column two lists roles, column three provides email addresses
NameRoleEmail
Interim Head    
Prof Kirsty Park Conservation Ecology k.j.park@stir.ac.uk
Professors    
Prof Katharine Abernethy Tropical Ecology k.a.abernethy@stir.ac.uk
Prof Alexandra Bayliss Archaeological Science alexandra.bayliss@stir.ac.uk
Prof Nils Bunnefeld Conservation Science nils.bunnefeld@stir.ac.uk
Prof David Copplestone Environmental Radioactivity david.copplestone@stir.ac.uk
Prof Alistair Jump Plant Ecology / Interim Dean of Faculty of Natural Sciences a.s.jump@stir.ac.uk
Prof Richard Quilliam Environmental Biology richard.quilliam@stir.ac.uk
Prof Ian Simpson Geography and Environmental Sciences i.a.simpson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Tyler Environmental Science / Deputy Dean of Faculty a.n.tyler@stir.ac.uk
Prof Nigel Willby River Ecosystems n.j.willby@stir.ac.uk
Prof Phil Wookey Ecosystem Science philip.wookey1@stir.ac.uk
Professorial Fellow
Prof Tim Whalley Cell Biology t.d.whalley@stir.ac.uk
Professors Emeritus
Prof Donald Davidson Soil Science d.a.davidson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Grant Reid Plant Biochemistry  
Prof Michael Thomas Tropical and Applied Geomorphology m.f.thomas@stir.ac.uk
Associate Professors
Dr David Oliver Catchment Science david.oliver@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jens-Arne Subke Terrestrial Ecosystems and Env. Change jens-arne.subke@stir.ac.uk
Dr Mario Vallejo-Marin Environmental Biology mario.vallejo@stir.ac.uk
Senior Lecturers
Dr Peter Hunter Earth Observation p.d.hunter@stir.ac.uk
Dr Christian Schröder Environmental Science and Planetary Exploration christian.schroeder@stir.ac.uk
Dr Armando Marino Earth Observation armando.marino@stir.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Tinsley Evolutionary Ecology matthew.tinsley@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Wilson Soil Science c.a.wilson@stir.ac.uk
Lecturers
Dr Stuart Auld Evolutionary Ecology  ska1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Bird Molecular Cell Biology clare.bird2@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tom Bradwell Quaternary Geologist tom.bradwell@stir.ac.uk
Dr Colin Bull River Science c.d.bull@stir.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Clarke Conservation & Environmental Management joanna.clarke@stir.ac.uk
Dr Daisy Dent Tropical Ecology d.h.dent@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Dickie Energy Geography j.a.dickie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andre Gilburn Ecology andre.gilburn@stir.ac.uk
Dr Ian Jones Environmental Sensing ian.jones@stir.ac.uk
Dr Isabel Jones Biodiversity & Conservation i.l.jones@stir.ac.uk
Dr Alan Law Ecology alan.law1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jenson Lim Applied Biological Sciences jenson.lim@stir.ac.uk
Dr Carlos Loureiro Physical Geography carlos.loureiro@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sabine Matallana-Surget Applied Biological Sciences sabine.matallanasurget@stir.ac.uk
Dr Heather Price Environmental Science / Geography heather.price@stir.ac.uk
Dr Martina Quaggiotto Ecology & Conservation martina.quaggiotto@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tony Robertson Geographies of Public Health tony.robertson@stir.ac.uk
Dr Thiago Silva Environmental Informatics thiago.sf.silva@stir.ac.uk
Dr Evangelos Spyrakos Earth Observation evangelos.spyrakos@stir.ac.uk
Dr Eileen Tisdall Environmental Science e.w.tisdall@stir.ac.uk
Research Staff
Dr Tom Bradfer-Lawrence Post-doctoral Research Assistant tom.bradfer-lawrence@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Cusack Post-doctoral Research Assistant jeremy.cusack@stir.ac.uk
Dr Brad Duthie Post-doctoral Research Assistant alexander.duthie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Hamilton Post-doctoral Research Assistant h.l.hamilton@stir.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Ingram Post-doctoral Research Assistant daniel.ingram@stir.ac.uk
Dr Kathryn Jeffery Researcher kathryn.jeffery@stir.ac.uk
Dr Francois-Xavier Joly Research Assistant francois-xavier.joly@stir.ac.uk
Dr Danielle MacKenzie Post-doctoral Research Assistant danielle.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Rosie Mangan Post-doctoral Research Assistant rosie.mangan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Vanessa Moresco Post-doctoral Research Associate vanessa.moresco@stir.ac.uk
Dr Claire Neil Research Assistant claire.neil@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Zoe O'Hara Research Assistant zoe.o.hara@stir.ac.uk
Dr Adam Varley Research Assistant a.l.varley@stir.ac.uk
Research Fellows
Dr Nicholas Attree Research Fellow  n.o.attree@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jérémy Froidevaux Leverhulme Research Fellow jeremy.froidevaux@stir.ac.uk
Dr Isla Hodgson Research Fellow isla.hodgson@stir.ac.uk
Mr Dalin Jiang Research Fellow dalin.jiang@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jurene Kemp Newton Research Fellow jurene.kemp@stir.ac.uk
Dr Veloisa Mascarenhas Research Fellow veloisa.mascarenhas@stir.ac.uk
Dr Javier Medina-Sanchez Research Fellow javier.medina-sanchez@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jeroen Minderman Research Fellow jeroen.minderman2@stir.ac.uk
Dr Carlos Eduardo Pereira Nunes Research Fellow carlos.pereira.nunes@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tom Parker Research Fellow t.c.parker@stir.ac.uk
Dr David Pritchard Research Fellow david.pritchard@stir.ac.uk
Dr Katherine Raines Research Fellow katherine.raines@stir.ac.uk
Administration
Miss Jenny Abercrombie Administrative Assistant jenny.abercrombie@stir.ac.uk
Miss Jessica Caie Administrative Assistant jessica.caie@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Joan Turner Administrative Assistant joan.colston@stir.ac.uk
Miss Lynn MacGregor Resource Co-ordinator lynn.macgregor@stir.ac.uk
Technical Support
Mr Ronald Balfour Stores/Procurement r.e.balfour@stir.ac.uk
Mr Stuart Bradley Field Technician stuart.bradley@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Lorna English Research Technician l.c.english@stir.ac.uk
Miss Ester Ferrari Research Technician ester.ferrari@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Sylvia Hodgson Laboratory Technician s.d.hodgson@stir.ac.uk
Mr Scott Jackson IT Support Scott Jackson
Mr George MacLeod Thin Section Laboratory / Safety Officer g.w.macleod@stir.ac.uk
Ms Pauline Monteith Laboratory Technician p.m.monteith@stir.ac.uk
Mr Ian Washbourne Laboratory Technician ian.washbourne@stir.ac.uk
Mr James Weir Technical Manager j.n.weir@stir.ac.uk
Research Students
Emmanuel Afolobi Quantifying the risk of wildlife contributions to diffuse microbial pollution in agricultural catchments e.o.afolabi@stir.ac.uk
Heather Anderson Reconciling scientific and non-scientific safe water realities: Case studies from the global North and global South h.k.anderson@stir.ac.uk
Allan Audsley Scotland’s Pockmarks: understanding the link between gas-escape features and buried carbon in fjordic systems allan.audsley1@stir.ac.uk
Olivia Azevedo Above and belowground ecological linkages in temperate forest soils olivia.azevedo@stir.ac.uk
Adrian Bach Using complex modelling to improve decision-making in conservation conflicts adrian.bach@stir.ac.uk
Johnson Bailey Quad polarimetric analysis of icebergs johnson.bailey@stir.ac.uk
Joshua Bauld An examination of spatial and dietary differences between male and female mandrills (Mandrillus sphinx), using GPS collars and stable isotope analysis j.t.bauld@stir.ac.uk
Hazel Blake Conserving World Heritage in climate change(d) futures: Mediating precipitation impacts through innovative soils-based solutions h.j.ramage@stir.ac.uk
Emily Bonsall Preservation of organic matter by reactive iron species on Mars relevant to Mars Sample Return emily.bonsall@stir.ac.uk
Natalie Boyd Williams The role of toilet-linked anaerobic digestion in creating sustainable rural futures n.a.boydwilliams@stir.ac.uk
Sarah Buckerfield Hydrological and land use controls on microbial water contamination in the southwest China karst region sarah.buckerfield1@stir.ac.uk
Emmy Burd Investigating nitrogen cycling between the marine cyanobacterium Trichodesmium and its bacterial associates e.m.burd1@stir.ac.uk
Jessica Burrows Assessing the impact of radiation exposure on bumblebees in the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone j.e.burrows@stir.ac.uk
Sydney Byrns The application of systems thinking approaches to governance of the water sector in sub-Saharan Africa s.c.byrns@stir.ac.uk
Emilie Courtecuisse Fluorometry for Rapid Eutrophication Status and Cyanobacteria Assessment emilie.courtecuisse@stir.ac.uk
Lidia De Sousa Teixeira Integrating Geo-Chemistry and Sustainability in Angolan Agro-Systems l.p.deasousaateixeira1@stir.ac.uk
Gavin Douglas Conservation Strategies for Archaeologically Excavated Structures in the North of Scotland in a Climate Change Future g.b.douglas1@stir.ac.uk
Alex Elsy How do liana and tree communities vary over secondary succession? a.d.elsy@stir.ac.uk
Adam Fell Navigating fragmented tropical landscapes; understanding how forest fragmentation affects frugivore behaviour adam.fell@stir.ac.uk
Francesc Ferrando Molina Development and optimisation of novel inoculants for grain legumes francesc.ferrandomolina1@stir.ac.uk
Jonathan Fletcher Optimising multi-pollutant phytoremediation strategies to sustainably improve raw water quality jonathan.fletcher@stir.ac.uk
Augustin Géron Light/dark cycle of surface marine picoplankton communities a.f.geron@stir.ac.uk
Megan Grace Exposure potential of rural versus urban inland waters for equitably improving population health and wellbeing m.j.grace@stir.ac.uk
Mia Graham The evolution of pathogen defence in insect hosts: whitefly resistance to biocontrol agents in horticulture mia.graham@stir.ac.uk
Louisa Habermann Understanding Soil Fertility Legacies in Coigach Assynt louisa.habermann1@stir.ac.uk
Robin Hayward Tree community recovery following selective logging of a tropical rain forest r.m.hayward1@stir.ac.uk
Elliot Hurst Constructed Wetlands and Waterscapes in Rural India and Scotland e.j.hurst@stir.ac.uk
Celeste Kellock Source to Sea: Soil organic carbon transport from forested environments to coastal waters and sediments celeste.kellock@stir.ac.uk
Eleri Kent Does woodland use by bats depend on landscape context? Implications for woodland creation schemes eleri.kent@stir.ac.uk
Paulo Manuel Kiala Embedding climate futures in spatial planning for agriculture The Angolan central highlands p.m.kiala1@stir.ac.uk
Charlotte Lee Invisible Threats to Oceans (InTO): assessing the combined toxicity effects of emerging anthropogenic pollutants on microbial communities charlotte.lee2@stir.ac.uk
Clément Lozano Combined effect of UV filters and solar radiation on heterotrophic marine bacteria clement.lozano@stir.ac.uk
Amy McCarron Air pollution and public health: exploring sustainable behavioural changes to reduce asthma sufferers’ exposure to fine particulate matter amy.mccarron@stir.ac.uk
David McCaughie Sandstone Heritage: Conservation in a Climate Change(d) Future d.c.mccaughie1@stir.ac.uk
Neil McDonald Getting to the Bottom of Ice Shelves neil.mcdonald@stir.ac.uk
Craig McDougall The role of inland waters in promoting improved health and well-being in communities across Scotland c.w.mcdougall@stir.ac.uk
Michael McGlade The Effects of Flooding and Physicochemical Parameter Changes Inducing Contaminant Remobilisation m.a.mcglade@stir.ac.uk
Corynne McGuire Assessing the hazard from radioactive particles in the environment corynne.mcguire@stir.ac.uk
Rose McKeon How does fluctuating selection affect pesticide effectiveness? c.r.mckeon@stir.ac.uk
Eilidh McNab How does large scale native woodland restoration affect biodiversity? e.m.mcnab1@stir.ac.uk
Timothy Meek Cultural and physical factors in the history and development of traditional external wall coatings in Scotland t.j.meek@stir.ac.uk 
Catherine Mercer  Taking the escalator to extinction: Understanding the role of rapid forest expansion in driving hotspots of extinction risk for endemic species in Taiwan  catherine.mercer@stir.ac.uk 
Alexander Mills  Atlantic woodland health: long-term interactions between climate, ecology, and management  a.t.mills@stir.ac.uk 
Douglas Moore The evolution and chemical ecology of buzz-pollinated plants and their pollinators c.d.moore@stir.ac.uk
Lucy Nevard The effect of floral morphology on plant-pollinator interactions in the buzz-pollinated flower lucy.nevard1@stir.ac.uk
Matthew Nuttall Sustainable decision making in dynamic landscapes supporting biodiversity and people in the Eastern Plains Landscape of Cambodia m.n.nuttall1@stir.ac.uk
Christopher Orbell Ecological connectivity between Gabon’s Protected Areas christopher.orbell@stir.ac.uk
Kirsten O'Sullivan Changing distribution and composition of sub-tropical montane forests in Taiwan kirsten.osullivan@stir.ac.uk
Tom Ovenden Assessing the resilience of UK forests to drought thomas.ovenden@stir.ac.uk
Theo Pannetier Determinants of diversification t.s.pannetier@stir.ac.uk
Sam Paplauskas Predicting epidemic size and disease evolution in natural systems sam.paplauskas@stir.ac.uk
John Paterson Effects of Phenology Shifts on Pollination Networks j.h.paterson1@stir.ac.uk
Heather Purshouse Opportunities and barriers to recovering value from faecal sludge in African cities: a case study of Blantyre, Malawi h.m.purshouse1@stir.ac.uk
Flora Rendell-Bhatti  Plastics and the Hidden Majority: Conservation Implications of a Threatened UK Freshwater Fish  f.a.rendell-bhatti@stir.ac.uk 
Jazz Rhoades  Climate change and species range margins: predicting forest resilience in the Mediterranean region  j.c.rhoades@stir.ac.uk 
Finlay Richardson Coelopids as a sustainable alternative to fish meal and oil f.b.richardson@stir.ac.uk
Emma Sheard Translating small scale ecological studies to large scale agricultural practices: breeding waders and grassland management e.j.sheard@stir.ac.uk
Cristian Silva Perez Monitoring agricultural fields in South America with Synthetic Aperture Radar c.j.silva.perez@stir.ac.uk
Morgan Simpson  Can the microbial communities in the oceans help satellites to monitor micro-plastic pollution?  m.d.simpson@stir.ac.uk 
Nonglak Sopakayoung Does integrating global expertise and local tradition give sustainable forest management? An assessment of international agency project implementation in community forests in South-east Asia nonglak.sopakayoung@stir.ac.uk
Rachel Steenson  Dippers (Cinclus cinclus) as bioindicators of health and resilience of freshwater ecosystems in the face of complex ecological change  rachel.steenson1@stir.ac.uk 
Heather Stewart Ice streaming, ice sheet deglaciation, and substrate properties, North Sea Basin, UK h.a.stewart@stir.ac.uk
Erin Stoll Quantifying and predicting soil responses to rapid forest change in a tropical mountain region e.i.stoll1@stir.ac.uk
Kathleen Stosch Building resilience to respond to future environmental change across Scottish catchments kathleen.stosch@stir.ac.uk
Helen Taylor-Boyd Investigating Species Assemblages, Activity Levels and Feeding Ecology of Chiroptera Species in Anthropogenic Landscapes in Zambia h.l.taylorboyd1@stir.ac.uk
Sarah Watts Improving outcomes in montane woodland restoration s.h.watts@stir.ac.uk
Mortimer Werther  Improved retrieval of chlorophyll-a for highly absorbing inland waters  mortimer.werther@stir.ac.uk 
John Wilson Proactive Sustainable Tourism: strategies to ensure wildlife conservation and tourist satisfaction in national parks john.wilson1@stir.ac.uk
Kelsey Wilson Predicting cascading ecosystem effects of beavers on riparian vegetation and deer k.a.wilson@stir.ac.uk
Honorary Staff
Prof Geoffrey Codd Honorary Professor g.a.codd@stir.ac.uk
Dr Paul Dale Honorary Senior Lecturer pd13@stir.ac.uk
Dr Elisa Fuentes-Montemayor Honorary Senior Lecturer elisa.fuentes-montemayor@stir.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Maisels Honorary Research Fellow fmaisels@wcs.org
Prof Chris Quine Honorary Professor chris.quine@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Caitlin Riddick Honorary Research Fellow caitlin.riddick1@stir.ac.uk
Prof Michael Usher Honorary Professor m.b.usher@stir.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Watts Honorary Senior Lecturer kevin.watts@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Lee White Honorary Professor Lwhite@parcsgabon.ga
Prof Jeremy Wilson Honorary Professor jeremy.wilson@rspb.org.uk