Institute of Aquaculture staff directory

Staff contact details

Column one lists names, column two lists roles, column three provides email addresses

Name Role Email
Head of Institute of Aquaculture
Professor Simon MacKenzie Evolution of immunity in aquatic organisms simon.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk
Deputy Head of Institute of Aquaculture
Professor Dave Little Aquatic Resource Development d.c.little@stir.ac.uk
Professors
Professor James Bron Aquatic parasitology j.e.bron@stir.ac.uk
Professor Dave Little Aquatic Resource Development d.c.little@stir.ac.uk
Professor Simon MacKenzie Evolution of immunity in aquatic organisms simon.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk
Professor Trevor Telfer  Aquaculture Environmental Interactions t.c.telfer@stir.ac.uk
Professor James Turnbull Aquatic animal health and welfare j.f.turnbull@stir.ac.uk
Emeritus and Honorary Professors
Professor Brian Austin Emeritus Professor brian.austin@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Gordon Bell Emeritus Professor g.j.bell@stir.ac.uk  
Professor Hugh Ferguson Emeritus Professor h.w.ferguson@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Stephen George Emeritus Professor s.g.george@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Brett Glencross Honorary Professor b.d.glencross@stir.ac.uk
Professor Brendan McAndrew Emeritus Professor b.j.mcandrew@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Randolph Richards Emeritus Professor r.h.richards@stir.ac.uk  
Professor Lindsay Ross Emeritus Professor l.g.ross@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Christina Sommerville Emeritus Professor chris.sommerville@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Douglas Tocher Emeritus Professor d.r.tocher@stir.ac.uk
Senior Lecturers
Dr Amaya Albalat Aquatic animal physiology and proteomics amaya.albalat@stir.ac.uk
Dr Michael Bekaert Computational biology michael.bekaert@stir.ac.uk
Dr Mags Crumlish Aquatic microbiology margaret.crumlish@stir.ac.uk
Dr Darren Green Aquatic health modelling darren.green@stir.ac.uk
Dr Armin Sturm Parasite control and management of treatment resistance armin.sturm@stir.ac.uk
Lecturers
Dr Johanna Baily  Aquatic animal pathology j.l.baily@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Monica Betancor Aquaculture Nutrition m.b.betancor@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Benjamin Clokie Teaching Assistant b.g.clokie@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Andrew Desbois Aquaculture microbiology andrew.desbois@stir.ac.uk
Dr Susan Fitzer Aquaculture and Ocean Acidification susan.fitzer@stir.ac.uk
Dr Almas Gheyas Aquaculture Production Science almas.gheyas@stir.ac.uk
Dr Alejandro  Gutierrez Aquaculture Genomics alejandro.gutierrez@stir.ac.uk 
Irene Molto Martin Teaching Assistant irene.molto.martin@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sean Monaghan Aquaculture s.j.monaghan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Amina Moss Aquaculture Nutrition amina.moss@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sonia Rey Planellas Aquaculture Environment and Animal Welfare sonia.reyplanellas@stir.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Sprague Aquaculture Nutrition matthew.sprague@stir.ac.uk
Research Staff
Niall Auchinachie Knowledge Transfer Associate n.a.auchinachie1@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Kerry Bartie Post Doctoral Research Assistant k.l.bartie1@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Adam Brooker Research Fellow a.j.brooker@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Richard Broughton Post Doctoral Research Fellow richard.broughton@stir.ac.uk 
Mausam Budhatoki ITN Early Stage Researcher mausam.budhathoki@stir.ac.uk
Dr Benjamin Clokie Research Fellow b.g.clokie@stir.ac.uk 
Maureen Ann Ellis Research Fellow m.a.ellis@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Lynne Falconer Post Doctoral Research Fellow lynne.falconer1@stir.ac.uk
Arthair Gordon Knowledge Transfer Associate arthair.gordon@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Daniel Gonzalez Silvera Research Assistant daniel.gonzalez.silvera@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Joanna Gosling Research Assistant joanna.gosling1@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Lisa Harrison Post Doctoral Research Fellow lisa.harrison@stir.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Horton Research Assistant daniel.horton@stir.ac.uk
Dr Panagiotis Kokkinias Post Doctoral Research Assistant panagiotis.kokkinias@stir.ac.uk
Amalia Kruprandan ITN Early Stage Researcher amalia.krupandan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Michael McGowan Post Doctoral Research Fellow michael.mcgowan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Stuart McMillan Post Doctoral Research Assistant  stuart.mcmillan@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Richard Newton Post Doctoral Research Fellow richard.newton@stir.ac.uk 
Reed Ozretich Research Assistant r.w.ozretich@stir.ac.uk 
Christopher Payne Post Doctoral Research Fellow c.j.payne1@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Pamela Prentice Post Doctoral Research Assistant pamela.prentice@stir.ac.uk
Dr Pauline Wischhusen Research Assistant pauline.wischhusen@stir.ac.uk 
Administration
Lee Carneson Senior Faculty Administrator lee.carneson@stir.ac.uk
Richard Kane Student Experience Officer richard.kane@stir.ac.uk 
Deborah Keir Academic Support Administrator deborah.keir@stir.ac.uk 
Kirsten Strachan AquaExcel TNA Project Administrator k.m.strachan1@stir.ac.uk
General Enquiries   aquaculture@stir.ac.uk
Technical support
Angus Beaton Laboratory Technician angus.beaton@stir.ac.uk 
Euan Brown Laboratory Technician euan.brown@stir.ac.uk
Brian Craig Aquarium Technician brian.craig@stir.ac.uk
Rozely De Jong Technician rozely.dejong@stir.ac.uk
Federico di Buccio Technician federico.di.buccio@stir.ac.uk 
Alasdair Dick Laboratory Technician alasdair.dick1@stir.ac.uk 
James Dick Technical Manager j.r.dick@stir.ac.uk
Debbie Faichney Lead Technical Specialist d.a.faichney@stir.ac.uk
James Fennell Junior Molecular Biology Technicain james.fennell@stir.ac.uk
Shona Fraser Technician s.m.fraser@stir.ac.uk 
Kathryn Grace Laboratory Technician k.a.grace@stir.ac.uk 
Charlie Harrower Assistant Technical Specialist - Stores charles.harrower@stir.ac.uk
Jacquie Ireland Lead Technical Specialist j.h.ireland@stir.ac.uk 
Katherine Kenyon Laboratory Technician k.s.kenyon@stir.ac.uk 
Elizabeth Mackinlay Technician eem2@stir.ac.uk
Graeme McWhinnie Tech Specialist - Biogeochemistry graeme.mcwhinnie@stir.ac.uk
Maria Marin-Munoz Laboratory Technician maria.marin-munoz@stir.ac.uk 
Miriam Moreno Technician m.m.moreno@stir.ac.uk 
Fiona Muir Senior Technical Speciliast k.f.muir@stir.ac.uk 
Valerie Park Laboratory Technician valerie.park2@stir.ac.uk 
Allison Penman Laboratory Technician allison.penman@stir.ac.uk
Keith Ranson Technician k.j.ranson@stir.ac.uk
Silvere Santos MASTS Research Technician silvere.santos@stir.ac.uk
Fiona Strachan Senior Technical Specialist fiona.strachan@stir.ac.uk 
Andrew Strachan Laboratory Assistant a.j.strachan@stir.ac.uk
Irene Younger Technical Specialist irene.younger@stir.ac.uk
Buckieburn Freshwater Research Facility
Alastair McPhee Manager - Freshwater Research Unit a.m.mcphee@stir.ac.uk
James Rae Hatchery Technician james.rae1@stir.ac.uk 
Colin Forrest Animal Care Technician colin.forrest@stir.ac.uk
Machrihanish Marine Environmental Research Lab (MERL)
Chessor Matthew Manager of MERL c.a.matthew@stir.ac.uk  
Simon Barnett Senior Animal Technician simon.barnett@stir.ac.uk 
Dr David Bassett Senior Animal Technician d.i.bassett@stir.ac.uk  
Sally Boyd Senior Animal Technician s.k.boyd@stir.ac.uk
Pedro Munoz Senior Animal Technician pedro.munoz@stir.ac.uk 
PhD Students
Ahmed Mohammed Farouk Mostofa Abozeid Environment/modelling a.m.abozeid@stir.ac.uk 
Aloysius Adibe Fish diseases a.c.adibe@stir.ac.uk 
Ahmed Ahmed Fish welfare a.m.ahmed@stir.ac.uk 
Rosa Allshire Fish diseases rosa.allshire@stir.ac.uk 
Pau Badia Epidemiology pau.badia.grimalt@stir.ac.uk 
Charlotte Bolton  Fish production c.m.bolton@stir.ac.uk 
Chelsea Broughton Bivalves disease c.c.broughton@stir.ac.uk
Mausam Budhatoki Sustainability mausam.budhathoki@stir.ac.uk
Faridah Bukirwa Environment/modelling faridah.bukirwa@stir.ac.uk 
Alexandra Bulgakova Environment/modelling a.k.bulgakova@stir.ac.uk 
Jadwiga Chomin Parasitology j.p.sokolowska1@stir.ac.uk 
Yu-Ching Chuang Parasitology yu-ching.chuang@stir.ac.uk 
Ana Corrochano-Fraile Environment/modelling ana.corrochano-fraile@stir.ac.uk
Batuhan Coskun Fish diseases batuhan.coskun@stir.ac.uk 
Karl Cutajar Environment/modelling karl.cutajar1@stir.ac.uk 
Jessica Di Toro Fish nutrition jessica.ditoro@stir.ac.uk 
Akpojotor Ekpeki Environment/modelling a.o.ekpeki1@stir.ac.uk 
Ahmed Elkesh Fish diseases a.a.elkesh@stir.ac.uk 
Wasseem Emam Fish welfare wasseem.emam@stir.ac.uk  
Karla Fernandez Quiroz Fish nutrition karla.fernandez@stir.ac.uk 
Fabian Fox Environment/modelling fabian.fox@stir.ac.uk
Katie Gaffney Fish production katie.gaffney@stir.ac.uk 
Xu Gong Fish nutrition xu.gong@stir.ac.uk 
Marie-Teresa Grobler Fish nutrition marie-teresa.grobler@stir.ac.uk 
Arsenio Hilinganye Fisheries management a.b.hilinganye1@stir.ac.uk 
Stephanie Horn Sustainability s.j.horn@stir.ac.uk 
Callum Howard Fish production callum.howard@stir.ac.uk
Jibril Jibril Fish diseases j.y.jibril@stir.ac.uk 
Gayatri Kachh  Fish diseases gayatri.rajendra.kachh@stir.ac.uk 
Alexander Kaminski Sustainability a.m.kaminski@stir.ac.uk 
Bjorn Kok Sustainability bjorn.kok@stir.ac.uk
Amalia Kuprandan Environment/modelling amalia.krupandan@stir.ac.uk
Heri Kurniawan Fish diseases heri.kurniawan@stir.ac.uk 
Francis Legario Fish diseases f.s.legario1@stir.ac.uk 
Emma McDonald Sustainability emd00076@students.stir.ac.uk 
Valeria Macchia Fish diseases valeria.macchia@stir.ac.uk 
Wesley Malcorps Sustainability wesley.malcorps@stir.ac.uk 
Irene Molto-Martin Crustacean diseases irene.molto.martin@stir.ac.uk 
Reed Ozretich Sustainability r.w.ozretich@stir.ac.uk
Peter Palma Fish production p.a.palma@stir.ac.uk
Ibrahim Rashid Fish diseases ibrahim.rashid@stir.ac.uk 
Abdalla Salah Fish nutrition a.s.salah@stir.ac.uk 
Mette Tollervey Fish production m.j.tollervey@stir.ac.uk 
Claudia Tschesche Parasitology claudia.tschesche@stir.ac.uk 
Lewis Kathryn Warren Fish production l.k.warren1@stir.ac.uk 
Timothy Robert Wiese Fish welfare t.r.wiese@stir.ac.uk
Suleiman Yakubu Environment/modelling s.o.yakubu1@stir.ac.uk