Skip header navigation

Institute of Aquaculture staff directory

Institute Executive Board

Professor Selina Stead Head of Institute of Aquaculture

selina.stead@stir.ac.uk 

Professor Simon MacKenzie                        Deputy Head of Institute of Aquaculture    

simon.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk  

Professor David Pond Director of Research

david.pond@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Margaret Crumlish  Director of Learning & Teaching

 margaret.crumlish@stir.ac.uk  

James Dick Strategic Lead Technical and Facilities

j.r.dick@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Susan Fitzer Strategic Lead of Engagement and Marketing susan.fitzer@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Dave Little Strategic Lead Internationalisation

d.c.little@stir.ac.uk 

Professor Trevor Telfer Strategic Lead Government Relations and Policy

t.c.telfer@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Andrew Davie Strategic Lead Special Projects

andrew.davie@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Stefano Carboni Strategic Lead Industry Development Strategy

stefano.carboni@stir.ac.uk 

Professor Manfred Weidmann Strategic Lead Lab Support and Strategy

m.w.weidmann@stir.ac.uk 

Professor Jimmy Turnbull Strategic Lead of Animal Welfare j.f.turnbull@stir.ac.uk 
Colin Forrest Strategic Lead Aquaria Innovation and Technology colin.forrest@stir.ac.uk 

Breeding and Stock Improvement

Breeding and Physiology Research Team

Professor Herve Migaud

Head of Research Team

Professor

herve.migaud@stir.ac.uk

Dr John Taylor

Breeding and Physiology

Senior Lecturer

j.f.taylor@stir.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Davie

Breeding and Physiology

Senior Lecturer

andrew.davie@stir.ac.uk

Dr Stefano Carboni

Breeding and Physiology

Lecturer

stefano.carboni@stir.ac.uk

Dr Adam Brooker

Breeding and Physiology 

Research Fellow

a.j.brooker@stir.ac.uk

Dr Michael Clarkson

Breeding and Physiology

Postdoctoral Research Assistant

michael.clarkson@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Lynn Chalmers

Breeding and Physiology

Postdoctoral Research Assistant

lynn.chalmers@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sarah-Louise Counter

Breeding and Physiology

Postdoctoral Research Assistant

sarah-louise.counter@stir.ac.uk

Dr Joanna Gosling

Breeding and Physiology

Research Assistant

joanna.gosling1@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Eduardo Varela

Breeding and  Physiology

Research Fellow

eduardo.varela@stir.ac.uk 

Charlotte Bolton 

Principal Supervsior: Herve Migaud

PhD Researcher

c.m.bolton@stir.ac.uk

Chelsea Broughton

Principal Supervisor: Stefano Carboni

PhD Researcher

c.c.broughton@stir.ac.uk

Thomas Cavrois-Rogacki

Principal Supervisor: Andrew Davie

PhD Researcher

thomas.cavroisrogacki@stir.ac.uk

Ana Corrochano-Fraile

Principal Supervisor: Stefano Carboni  PhD Researcher ana.corrochano-fraile@stir.ac.uk 

Philip Graham

Principal Supervisor: Stefano Carboni PhD Researcher philip.graham@stir.ac.uk

Callum Howard

Principal Supervisor: Herve Migaud PhD Researcher callum.howard@stir.ac.uk

Samuel Poutney

Principal Supervisor: Andrew Davie PhD Researcher s.m.pountney1@stir.ac.uk

Genomics and Selection Research Team 

Dr John Taggart

Genomics and Selection

Senior Lecturer

j.b.taggart@stir.ac.uk

Dr Michael Bekaert

Genomics and Selection

Lecturer

mb66@stir.ac.uk

Health

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease Research Team

Professor Manfred Weidmann

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

m.w.weidmann@stir.ac.uk

Dr Mags Crumlish

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Senior Lecturer

mc3@stir.ac.uk

Dr Johanna Baily 

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Lecturer

jlb4@stir.ac.uk

Mr Alexandre Pargana

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Lecturer

a.m.pargana@stir.ac.uk

Dr Vanessa Moresco

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Postdoctoral Research Associate

vanessa.moresco@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Jessica Benkaroun

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Posdoctoral Research Fellow

jessica.benkaroun@stir.ac.uk 

Rosa Allshire

Principal Supervisor: Manfred Weidmann 

PhD Researcher

rosa.allshire@stir.ac.uk 

Ahmed Elkesh Principal Supervisor:Margaret Crumlish PhD Researcher a.a.elkesh@stir.ac.uk 
Gayatri Kachh  Principal Supervisor:Manfred Weidmann

PhD Researcher

gayatri.rajendra.kachh@stir.ac.uk 
Heri Kurniawan Principal Supervisor:Margaret Crumlish PhD Researcher heri.kurniawan@stir.ac.uk 
Francis Legario Principal Supervisor:Margaret Crumlish PhD Researcher f.s.legario1@stir.ac.uk 
Siriwan Nooseng Principal Supervisor:Margaret Crumlish

PhD Researcher

siriwan.nooseng@stir.ac.uk
Christopher Payne Principal Supervisor:Margaret Crumlish PhD Researcher c.j.payne1@stir.ac.uk 

Immunology and Vaccinology Research Team 

Professor Sandra Adams

Head of Research Group

Professor

alexandra.adams@stir.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Desbois

Immunology and Vaccinology

Lecturer

andrew.desbois@stir.ac.uk

Dr Kerry Bartie

Immunology and Vaccinology

Postdoctoral Researcher

k.l.bartie1@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Rowena Hoare

 Immunology and Vaccinology

Research Fellow

rowena.hoare1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sean Monaghan

Immunology and Vaccinology

Research Fellow

s.j.monaghan@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Fridman

Immunology and Vaccinology (also in Parasitology)

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

sophie.fridman@stir.ac.uk

Elizabeth Buba

Principal Supervisor: Sandra Adams

PhD Researcher

elizabeth.buba1@stir.ac.uk 

Jibril Jibril

Principal Supervisor: Sandra Adams

PhD Researcher

j.y.jibril@stir.ac.uk 

Valeria Macchia

Principal Supervisor: Sandra Adams

PhD Researcher

valeria.macchia@stir.ac.uk 

Athina Papadopoulou

Principal Supervisor: Sandra Adams

PhD Researcher

athina.papadopoulou@stir.ac.uk 

Parasitology Research Team

Professor James Bron

Head of Research Team

Professor

j.e.bron@stir.ac.uk

Dr Armin Sturm

Parasitology

Senior Lecturer

armin.sturm@stir.ac.uk

Rachel Brown

Parasitology

Knowledge Transfer Associate

rachel.brown@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Sophie Fridman

Parasitology (also in Immunology and Vacciniology)

Postodoctoral Research Fellow

sophie.fridman@stir.ac.uk 

Yu-Ching Chuang

Principal Supervisor: James Bron

PhD Researcher

yu-ching.chuang@stir.ac.uk 

Carolina Fernandez

Principal Supervisor: James Bron

PhD Researcher carolina.fernandez@stir.ac.uk 
David Guidi Principal Supervisor: Armin Sturm PhD Researcher david.guidi1@stir.ac.uk 
Ana Herrero Fernandez Principal Supervisor: James Bron PhD Researcher ana.herrerofernandez@stir.ac.uk 
Jadwiga Sokolowska Principal Supervisor: James Bron  PhD Researcher j.p.sokolowska1@stir.ac.uk 
Claudia Tschesche Principal Supervisor: Armin Sturm PhD Researcher claudia.tschesche@stir.ac.uk 

Nutrition

Nutrition Research Team

Professor Brett Glencross

Head of Research Team

Professor

b.d.glencross@stir.ac.uk

Professor Douglas Tocher

Nutrition

Professor

d.r.tocher@stir.ac.uk

Professor David Pond

Nutrition

Professor

david.pond@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Monica Betancor

Nutrition

Lecturer

m.b.betancor@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Richard Broughton

Nutrition

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

richard.broughton@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Matthew Sprague

Nutrition

Research Fellow

matthew.sprague@stir.ac.uk

Dr David Huyben

Nutrition

Research Assistant

david.huyben@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Stuart McMillan

Nutrition

Postdoctoral Research Assistant 

stuart.mcmillan@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Daniel Gonzales Silvera

Nutrition

Research Assistant

daniel.gonzalez.silvera@stir.ac.uk

Jessica Di Toro

Principal Supervisor: Monica Betancor

PhD Researcher

jessica.ditoro@stir.ac.uk 

Karla Fernandez Quiroz Principal Supervisor: Monica Betancor PhD Researcher ksf00007@students.stir.ac.uk 
Xu Gong Principal Supervisor: Brett Glencross PhD Researcher xu.gong@stir.ac.uk 
Marie-Teresa Grobler Principal Supervisor: Brett Glencross PhD Researcher marie-teresa.grobler@stir.ac.uk 

Aquaculture Systems

Environmental Management Research Team

Professor Trevor Telfer 

Head of Research Team

Professor

t.c.telfer@stir.ac.uk

Dr Michael Leaver

Environmental management,

Director of Learning and Teaching

Senior Lecturer

m.j.leaver@stir.ac.uk

Dr Bruce McAdam

Environmental Management 

Lecturer

b.j.mcadam@stir.ac.uk

Dr Lynne Falconer

Environmental Management

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

lynne.falconer1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Susan Fitzer

Environmental Management

Research Fellow

susan.fitzer@stir.ac.uk

Anastasios Baltadakis

Principal Supervisor: Trevor Telfer

PhD Researcher

anastasios.baltadakis1@stir.ac.uk 

Faridah Bukirwa Principal Supervisor: Trevor Telfer PhD Researcher faridah.bukirwa@stir.ac.uk 
Karl Cutajar Principal Supervisor: Trevor Telfer PhD Researcher karl.cutajar1@stir.ac.uk 
Akpojotor Ekpeki Principal Supervisor: Trevor Telfer PhD Researcher a.o.ekpeki1@stir.ac.uk 
Arsenio Hilinganye Principal Supervisor: Bruce McAdam PhD Researcher a.b.hilinganye1@stir.ac.uk 
Isah Lawal

Principal Supervisor: Michael Leaver

PhD Researcher isah.lawal@stir.ac.uk
Suleiman Yakubu Principal Supervisor: Trevor Telfer PhD Researcher s.o.yakubu1@stir.ac.uk 

Society and Technology Interface Research Team

Professor Dave Little

Head of Research Team/ Director of Research

Professor

dcl1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Francis Murray

Society and Technology Interface

Research Fellow/Researcher

f.j.murray@stir.ac.uk

Dr Richard Newton

Society and Technology Interface

Research Fellow/Researcher

richard.newton@stir.ac.uk

Mr William Leschen

Society and Technology Interface

Research Fellow/Researcher

wl2@stir.ac.uk

Mr John Bostock

Society and Technology Interface

Director of MSc programmes in Aquaculture, Senior Consultant

j.c.bostock@stir.ac.uk

Alexandra Pounds

Society and Technology Interface

Research Assistant

alexandra.pounds@stir.ac.uk 

Stephanie Horn

Principal Supervisor: Dave Little

PhD Researcher

s.j.horn@stir.ac.uk 

Alexander Kaminski

Principal Supervisor: Dave Little

PhD Researcher

a.m.kaminski@stir.ac.uk 

Silvia Maiolo

Principal Supervisor: Richard Newton

PhD Researcher

silvia.maiolo@stir.ac.uk 

Wesley Malcorps

Principal Supervisor: Dave Little

PhD Researcher

wesley.malcorps@stir.ac.uk 

Pierre-Olivier Maquart

Principal Supervisor: Francis Murray

PhD Researcher

p.j.maquart@stir.ac.uk 

Dimitar Taskov

Principal Supervisor: Francis Murray

PhD Researcher

dimitar.taskov@stir.ac.uk 

Simao Zacarias

Principal Supervisor: Dave Little

PhD Researcher

simao.zacarias1@stir.ac.uk 

Welfare and Behaviour

Welfare and Behaviour Research Team

Professor Simon MacKenzie

Head of Research Team
Deputy head of derpartment

Professor

simon.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk

Professor James Turnbull

Welfare and Behaviour

Professor

j.f.turnbull@stir.ac.uk

Dr Darren Green

Welfare and Behaviour

Senior Lecturer

darren.green@stir.ac.uk

Dr Amaya Albalat

Welfare and Behaviour

Director of Postgraduate Research programmes

amaya.albalat@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sonia Rey Planellas

Welfare and Behaviour

Lecturer

sonia.reyplanellas@stir.ac.uk

Allan Beveridge

Welfare and Behaviour

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

allan.beveridge@stir.ac.uk

Dr Benjamin Clokie

Welfare and Behaviour

Research Fellow

b.g.clokie@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Bernat Morro Cortes

Welfare and Behaviour

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

bernat.morro.cortes@stir.ac.uk

Ahmed Moustafa Kamel Ahmed

Principal Supervisor: Simon MacKenzie

PhD Researcher

a.m.ahmed@stir.ac.uk 

Pau Badia Grimalt

Principal Supervisor: Darren Green

PhD Researcher

pau.badia.grimalt@stir.ac.uk 

Maureen Ann Ellis

Principal Supervisor: James Turnbull

PhD Researcher

m.a.ellis@stir.ac.uk 

Rui Mendes-Goncalves

Principal Supervisor: Simon MacKenzie

PhD Researcher

r.a.mendesagoncalves1@stir.ac.uk 

Irene Molto Martin Principal Supervisor: Amaya Albalat PhD Researcher irene.molto.martin@stir.ac.uk 
Savitree Ritchuay Principal Supervisor: Simon MacKenzie PhD Researcher savitree.ritchuay@stir.ac.uk 
Timothy Robert Wiese Principal Supervisor: Jimmy Turnbull PhD Researcher t.r.wiese@stir.ac.uk

Honorary academic staff

Dr Andy Shinn Honorary Senior Lecturer in Parasitology a.p.shinn@stir.ac.uk

Professors Emeritus

Professor Brian Austin   brian.austin@stir.ac.uk
Professor Gordon Bell   g.j.bell@stir.ac.uk 
Professor Hugh Ferguson   h.w.ferguson@stir.ac.uk
Professor Stephen George   s.g.george@stir.ac.uk
Professor Ronald Roberts    
Professor Christina Sommerville   chris.sommerville@stir.ac.uk
Professor Randolf Richards   r.h.richards@stir.ac.uk  
Professor  Lindsay Ross   l.g.ross@stir.ac.uk

Administration

Kirsten Strachan Administrative Assistant k.m.strachan@stir.ac.uk
Moira Maron Aquaculture PGR Administrator/ Faculty Research Administrator pgr.ioa@stir.ac.uk
Richard Kane Student Experience Administrator richard.kane@stir.ac.uk 
Deborah Keir Academic Support Administrator deborah.keir@stir.ac.uk 
General Enquiries   aquaculture@stir.ac.uk

Technical support

Dr Kerry Bartie Technician (AquaExcel) k.l.bartie1@stir.ac.uk
Brian Craig Technician, NACWO (Aquarium) brian.craig@stir.ac.uk
Rozely De Jong Technician (NAS) rozely.dejong@stir.ac.uk
Federico di Buccio Laboratory Technician federico.di.buccio@stir.ac.uk 
James Dick Technical Manager: (Nutrition NAS)
Director of Facilities
j.r.dick@stir.ac.uk
Debbie Faichney Senior Technician (Histology)  d.a.faichney@stir.ac.uk
Shona Fraser Techinician s.m.fraser@stir.ac.uk 
Charlie Harrower Senior Technician (Purchasing)  charles.harrower@stir.ac.uk
Jacquie Ireland Senior Technician (TSB)  jhi1@stir.ac.uk
Jane Lewis Technician (Stores)  jel1@stir.ac.uk
Hilary McEwan Senior Technician (Immunology)  h.j.mcewan@stir.ac.uk
Elizabeth Mackinlay Senior Technician (NAS)  eem2@stir.ac.uk
Graeme McWhinnie Technician (NAS)  graeme.mcwhinnie@stir.ac.uk
Miriam Moreno Laboratory Technician m.m.moreno@stir.ac.uk 
Fiona Muir Senior Technician (Virology)  kfm1@stir.ac.uk
Allison Penman Technician (NAS) allison.penman@stir.ac.uk
Keith Ranson Senior Technician, NACWO (Aquarium)   k.j.ranson@stir.ac.uk
Marta Sallen-Borsot Laboratory Technician marta.sallen-borsot@stir.ac.uk 
Silvere Santos Technician (Aquarium) silvere.santos@stir.ac.uk
Karen Snedden Senior Technician (Target fish) k.e.snedden@stir.ac.uk
Fiona Strachan Senior Technician (NAS)  fm11@stir.ac.uk
William Struthers Chief Technician: Environment  w.a.struthers@stir.ac.uk
Irene Younger Senior Technician (NAS)  irene.younger@stir.ac.uk

Buckieburn Freshwater Research Facility

Alastair McPhee Manager - Freshwater Research Unit a.m.mcphee@stir.ac.uk
James Rae Hatchery Technician james.rae1@stir.ac.uk 
Colin Forrest Animal Care Technician colin.forrest@stir.ac.uk

Machrihanish Marine Environmental Research Lab

Chessor Matthew Manager of MERL c.a.matthew@stir.ac.uk  
Simon Barnett Senior Animal Technician simon.barnett@stir.ac.uk 
Dr David Bassett Senior Animal Technician d.i.bassett@stir.ac.uk  
Sally Boyd Senior Animal Technician s.k.boyd@stir.ac.uk
Pedro Munoz Lopez Senior Animal Technician pedro.munoz@stir.ac.uk 
Adam Powell Senior Animal Technician Lead, NACWO adam.powell@stir.ac.uk

 

Scroll back to the top