Professor Brett Glencross

Honorary Professor

Institute of Aquaculture Pathfoot Building, University of Stirling, Stirling, FK9 4LA

Professor Brett Glencross

Share a link

About me

Dr Brett Glencross is the Professor for Aquaculture Nutrition at the Institute of Aquaculture at the University of Stirling. He commenced this role in January 2016.

Prior to joining the University of Stirling he was the Technical Manager with the Aqua-Feed Division of Ridley, Australia’s largest provider of animal nutrition solutions and products. Prior to joining Ridley he was the Senior Principal Research Scientist for Aquaculture Feed Technologies research at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) in Australia from 2009 to 2015.

He has Honours and Masters Degrees in Biochemistry from the University of Western Australia and a PhD in Animal Nutrition from the University of Queensland. 

Over the past 20 years he has worked in Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, France, Japan, Norway, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Thailand and Vietnam. He has led two major international development (ODA) projects from 2002 to 2015 in Vietnam and Cambodia. He has also worked closely with several major international aquaculture feed companies throughout Australia, Asia and Europe.

He was an editor for the journal Aquaculture Nutrition from 2008-2016. He was also a board director for the Asia-Pacific chapter of the World Aquaculture Society from 2013 - 2016. Additionally he is presently Chair of the Scientific Committee of the International Society for Fish Nutrition and Feeding (ISFNF), and was Chair of the Organising Committee for the 2014 ISFNF Conference held in Australia. 

As the scientist that led the development and commercialisation of the microbial bioactive ingredient Novacq™ at CSIRO he and his team were awarded that organisations’ prestigious Impact from Science Medal. In recognition of his contributions to the Australian prawn and barramundi farming sectors Professor Glencross was awarded the Industry Research and Innovation Award in 2012.