Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Deadline for applications has passed. Information available for reference only.

Key Facts

Fee status



Postgraduate (taught)


Deadline for applications has passed. Information available for reference only.

Number of awards


Value of awards

Awards cover maintenance allowance, tuition fees and air fares.

Your country/region

Commonwealth excluding UK

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for candidates from developing Commonwealth countries, looking to study selected postgraduate Masters courses.

Background information

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and UK universities, to support students from developing commonwealth countries to study full-time in the United Kingdom on a postgraduate course.

Eligible countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Eswatini
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

The nine scholarship awards are available for the following programmes:

The scholarship covers:

  • tuition fees
  • maintenance/ living cost stipend
  • return flights
  • thesis grant
  • study travel grant (if applicable)
  • one-off arrival allowance

Find out more about Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2022.


Eligibility and availability

To be eligible, you must:

  • be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2022
  • by September 2022, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). 
  • not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country (as classified by the World Bank)
  • be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Information on eligibility can be found on the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships website.

How do I apply?

Applicants need to first apply to the University of Stirling for one of the eligible courses. In order to be considered for an award, applicants must hold an offer of a place at Stirling. We would recommend applying to Stirling well in advance of any deadlines for this scholarship.

Applications must be made using the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's online application system, details of which can be found on the CSC’s website under the ‘How to apply’ section

See what recipients of the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship said about studying at Stirling

What our students said

Eziama Ngozi
Eziama Ngozi
MSc Aquatic Pathobiology
I decided to apply for scholarships to pursue the study of aquaculture and discovered that MSc Aquatic Pathobiology at Stirling is one of the courses sponsored by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. I was attracted to the course as it is one of a kind worldwide, a course offered only at the University of Stirling, and the modules of the course perfectly aligned with my future career.
Read Eziama's story
Angela Lum-Neh
Angela Lum-Neh
MSc Financial Technology (FinTech)
I was in search of a FinTech course with an integration of data science. The University of Stirling stood out as one of the very few universities in the UK with this combination. The innovative and practical nature of the course coupled with the fact that the different modules aligned perfectly with the skillset I wanted to develop sparked my interest in the course.
Read Angela's story