Undergraduate Merit Scholarship (for students from England, Wales and Northern Ireland)

Key Facts

Fee status

England, Northern Ireland, Wales



Number of awards


Value of awards

£1,000 per year (years 1-3)

Your country/region

England, Northern Ireland, Wales

This scholarship provides a £1,000 cash award per year (for years 1 – 3) for eligible students from England, Wales and Northern Ireland. 

Background information

The Undergraduate Merit Scholarship is awarded to all undergraduate students coming to the University of Stirling from England, Wales and Northern Ireland with a minimum of AAB performance at A-level or equivalent.

The scholarship provides a £1,000 cash award per year (for years 1 – 3), and can be combined with our Honours Year Scholarship, which covers the full cost of tuition fees in the Honours year of study.

Students who receive this scholarship are also eligible for the Undergraduate Choice Scholarship or the Clearing Scholarship, both of which are an £1,000 cash award allocated to all students from England, Wales or Northern Ireland who meet the conditions of their offer and select the University of Stirling as their Firm or Insurance choice on UCAS and enrol at the University.

Students will also be guaranteed a place in University-managed accommodation during their first year .

Eligibility and availability

Eligibility requirements:

  • You must be classed as a student from England, Wales or Northern Ireland for tuition fee purposes.
  • You should hold a minimum of AAB at A-level or equivalent.
  • You must have received a conditional or unconditional offer of admissions for an eligible undergraduate programme at the University of Stirling.
  • You must be a full-time student.
  • This scholarship is only available to students studying at our Stirling campus.
  • You must take up your place and enrol on your course at the University.

See the Terms and Conditions for the Undergraduate Merit Scholarship.


How do I apply?

Students will automatically be identified as part as the admissions process. No separate application is required for this award.