International Centre for Gothic Studies

Gothic Studies Banner

Since 1988, the University of Stirling has been a world-leading research hub for the study of Gothic literature and culture. For thirty years, Stirling has been hosting major conferences such as the International Gothic Association; Globalgothic: Technology, Media, Horror; Scottish Gothic, 1764-Present, as well as the Patrick McGrath Symposium. Since 2008, Stirling has also been home to several international AHRC-funded research projects, including Global Gothic, Writing Britain’s Ruins, and Popular Occulture in Britain, 1875-1947.  

In 2017, Stirling consolidated this research by founding the International Centre for Gothic Studies. This multi-disciplinary research centre brings together leading scholars in Gothic Studies working in and across a range of disciplines at the University of Stirling. Co-Directed by Justin D Edwards (Professor of Gothic Studies) and Timothy Jones (Lecturer in Gothic Studies), the Centre is home to the MLitt in the Gothic Imagination and runs a series of events throughout the year developing and showcasing Gothic research at Stirling and around the world.

Contact

For queries about the Centre or about postgraduate study in Gothic Studies please contact justin.edwards@stir.ac.uk or timothy.jones@stir.ac.uk 

The Directors for the International Centre for Gothic Studies are Justin D Edwards (Professor of Gothic Studies) and Timothy Jones (Lecturer in Gothic Studies). Their Joint Directorship speaks to the collaborative focus of the Centre which seeks to bring together scholars across the University who are undertaking work on Gothic Studies. A full list of affiliated colleagues is provided below and gives some sense of the diverse areas in which we can offer expert postgraduate supervision at both taught and research levels.

The Centre also provides a home for the MLitt in Gothic Studies. This programme has developed out of the world-leading research in Gothic Studies at Stirling through international conferences and world-leading Gothic research projects such as Global Gothic, Writing Britain’s Ruins, as well as Popular Occulture in Britain, 1875-1947.

Name

Position

Email

Leonor Ruiz-Ayucar Bello PhD Candidate leonor.ruiz-ay.car.bello@stir.ac.uk
Ann Davies Chair in Spanish ann.davies@stir.ac.uk
Rebecca Duncan Tutor in English rebecca.duncan@stir.ac.uk
Justin D Edwards Chair in Gothic Studies justin.edwards@stir.ac.uk
Elizabeth Ezra Chair in Culture and Cinema e.r.ezra@stir.ac.uk
Christine Ferguson Chair in English christine.ferguson@stir.ac.uk
Timothy Jones Lecturer in Gothic Studies timothy.jones@stir.ac.uk
Peter Lindfield Leverhulme Early Career Fellow peter.lindfield@stir.ac.uk
Stuart Lindsay Tutor in English s.l.lindsay@stir.ac.uk
Madelyn Schoonover PhD Candidate m.m.schoonover@stir.ac.uk
Sonja Zimmermann PhD Candidate sonja.zimmermann@stir.ac.uk

Gothic Reading Group

The International Centre for Gothic Studies at Stirling runs a staff/student Gothic Reading Group. It is intended to provide a space for staff and postgraduate students reading Gothic fiction, theory and criticism in different disciplinary contexts to get together and discuss ideas and issues of shared concern. If you’d like to suggest a text for us to consider please get in touch (timothy.jones@stir.ac.uk).

The following events will feature in the Gothic REF ICS: