Equality awards for University areas

Back to news
University of Stirling campus

A University of Stirling faculty and division have been recognised for their continued commitment to equality.

Both the Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport (FHSS) and the Division of Biological and Environmental Sciences (BES) have retained their Athena SWAN bronze awards. The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the University of York, on Monday 24 June.

The Athena SWAN initiative is a national charter developed by the Equality Challenge Unit, which recognises and promotes good practice in gender equality. The charter is based on ten key principles which help foster positive, cultural change across the working environment and tackle inequalities.


By being part of Athena SWAN, institutions commit to a progressive charter; adopting these principles within their policies, practices, action plans and culture.

Jill Stevenson, who was recently appointed as the University’s Dean of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, said: “I welcome this announcement and congratulate the Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport and the Division of Biological and Environmental Sciences for all their work in retaining their bronze accreditation.

“The University is committed to creating a culture that fully supports equality, diversity and inclusion. These two recent awards demonstrates that colleagues from across the University support this goal, and are working hard to achieve it.”


Dr Naomi Brooks, FHSS Athena SWAN Chair, said: “The Faculty is delighted to have been awarded our bronze renewal. As chair of the Faculty group, I would like to thank everyone involved in the day-to-day work around promoting equality and looking to create positive working environments for all staff and students.”

Kirsty Park, BES Athena SWAN Chair, said: “The Athena SWAN process has acted as a catalyst within BES for driving forward changes to working practices and culture, thus improving our approach to equality and inclusion.”

Stirling was awarded the University-wide bronze award in 2013, and retained it in 2016.

You may also be interested in