Five-star Stirling success in top Fellowship

Back to news

The University of Stirling’s Chancellor Dr James Naughtie – and Principal and Vice-Chancellor Professor Gerry McCormac – have been elected to become Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Also elected to become RSE Fellows were Professor Ronan O’Carroll, of Stirling’s Faculty of Natural Sciences, as well as alumni Sir Paul Grice, Clerk and Chief Executive of the Scottish Parliament, and Cairn Energy founder Sir Bill Gammell.

International recognition

Professor McCormac said: “I am very pleased to receive this recognition from the Royal Society of Edinburgh, both from a personal perspective and on behalf of my University of Stirling colleagues also honoured today.

“This is a tremendous accolade from an internationally-renowned organisation, validating our commitment to deliver real benefits to the local, national and international communities we serve.”

Extensive achievements

New Fellows are elected each year through a rigorous five-stage nomination process. The five members of the Stirling community were among a total of 59 people named as having been elected to become RSE members.

President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, said: “Each newly elected Fellow has been nominated on their exceptional and extensive achievements; it is a great honour to welcome such a range of outstanding individuals to the Fellowship.

“In joining the RSE Fellowship, they will strengthen the Society’s capacity to advance excellence across all areas of public life in Scotland and further afield.”

The RSE aims to support ‘the advancement of learning and useful knowledge in Scottish public life’.

Background information

Media enquiries to Corrie Campbell, Communications Officer, on 01786 466 169 or