Skip header navigation

Authored Book

Who Built Scotland: A History of the Nation in Twenty-Five Buildings

McCall Smith A, Moffat A, Crawford J, Robertson J & Jamie K (2017) Who Built Scotland: A History of the Nation in Twenty-Five Buildings. HES Edinburgh: Historic Environment Scotland.

Experience a new history of Scotland told through its places. Writers Kathleen Jamie, Alexander McCall Smith, Alistair Moffat, James Robertson and James Crawford pick twenty-five buildings to tell the story of the nation.  Travelling across the country, from abandoned islands and lonely glens to the heart of our modern cities, these five authors seek out the diverse narrative of the Scottish people.  Who Built Scotland is a landmark exploration of Scotland's social, political and cultural histories. Moving from Neolithic families, exiled hermits and ambitious royal dynasties to highland sheiling girls, peasant poets, Enlightenment philosophers and iconoclastic artists, it places our people, our ideas and our passions at the heart of our architecture and archaeology. This is the remarkable story how we have shaped our buildings and how our buildings, in turn, have shaped us.

Author(s)McCall Smith, Alexander; Moffat, Alastair; Crawford, James; Robertson, James; Jamie, Kathleen
Publication date14/09/2017
PublisherHistoric Environment Scotland
Publisher URL…otland-pre-order
Place of publicationHES Edinburgh
Scroll back to the top