Book Chapter

Options for Decision Makers



Razzaque J, Visseren-Hamakers I, Prasad Gautam A, Gerber L, Islar M, Saiful Karim M, Kelemen E, Liu J, Lui G, McElwee P, Mohammed A, Mungatana E, Muradian R, Rusch GM & Schapper A (2019) Options for Decision Makers. In: Sonnewend Brondízio E, Settele J, Diaz S & Ngo HT (eds.) Global Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services. Bonn, Germany: IPBES Secretariat, pp. 875-1028.

First paragraph: The Sustainable Development Goals and the 2050 Vision for Biodiversity cannot be achieved without transformative change, the conditions for which can be put in place now (well established) {6.2; chapters 2, 3, 5}. In the short term (before 2030), all decision makers can contribute to the sustainability transformation, including through the rapid and improved deployment of existing policy instruments and new initiatives that more effectively enlist individual and collective action for transformative change, and the reform and removal of harmful existing policies and subsidies (well established). Additional measures are necessary to enable transformative change in the long term (up to 2050) to address the indirect drivers that are the root causes of nature deterioration (well established), including changes in social, economic and technological structures within and across nations {6.2, 6.3, 6.4}.

Additional co-authors: Esther Turnhout, Meryl Williams, Ivis Chan, Alvaro Fernandez-Llamazares, Michelle Lim, Saleem Ali, Susan Baker, Andrew Balmford, David N. Barton, Rupert Baumgartner, Timothy Baynes, Abigail Bennett, Brent Bleys, P.M. van Bodegom, Sara Brogaard, Mireille Chiroleu Assouline, Jennifer Clapp, Neil Craik, Maylis Desrousseaux, Rui Ferrero dos Santos, Doris Fuchs, Toby Gardner, Alexandros Gasparatos, Ariane Goetz, Jeroen B. Guinée, David Hall, Duncan Halley, Michael Howard, Caroline Howe, Cynthia Isenhour, Tim Jackson, Katia Karousakis, John Knox, Berit Köhler, Janne S. Kotiaho, William F. Laurance, Elodie Le Gal, Jin Leshan, Nengye Liu, Emanuele Lobina, Derk Loorbach, Martine Maron, Peter May, Timon McPhearson, Marieke Meesters, E. Migoni Alejandre, Daniel Miller, Angus Morrison-Saunders, Lila Nath Sharma, Barbara Norman, Ingeborg Palm Helland, Fabien Quétier, Jake Rice, Irene Ring, Denis Ruysschaert, Ronald Steenblik, William J. Sutherland, Jacqueline Tao, James Watson, Dara Zaleski

Publication date31/12/2019
PublisherIPBES Secretariat
Place of publicationBonn, Germany

People (1)


Professor Andrea Schapper

Professor Andrea Schapper

Professor, Politics