Child Well-being and Protection

The research group underpins the Centre for Child Wellbeing and Protection and brings together staff from across the University of Stirling who are engaged in research of relevance to children’s wellbeing and protection. We undertake research, and have the expertise to tackle the issues that affect children’s development at an individual, family and structural level and thus can bring a holistic and integrated approach to the field.  There is an emphasis on bridging the theoretical and the applied, with the aim of ensuring that the best possible evidence is used to inform policies and practices which shape the lives of children, young people and families.

Methodologies and Theoretical Frameworks

We work collaboratively with research participants, service users, practitioners and policymakers, drawing on a wide range of methodologies. We follow a Child Rights approach and are committed to include children and young people’s perspectives in our research. Through such relationships and practices we are committed to challenging rather than reinforcing current hierarchies, stereotypes and exclusions.

Consultancy

As consultants we can provide specialist advice about research and evaluation methodologies, as well as take on fully fledged project team roles. For example, Dr Christine Stephen is currently providing advice about evaluation methods to Early Years Scotland in order to inform the evaluation of their Big Lottery funded project ‘Off to a Good Start’. 

Professor Brigid Daniel, Leader, Child Wellbeing and Protection research group

Twitter@stirCCWP

Name  Subject area Contact
Professor Brigid Daniel (research group leader) Social Work b.m.daniel@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andressa Gadda                Research Fellow, Centre for Child Wellbeing and Protection        a.m.gadda@stir.ac.uk                        
Ashley Rogers Social Sciences Research Doctorate  ashley.rogers@stir.ac.uk
Carol George Research Fellow, Social Work carol.george@stir.ac.uk
Caroline Jarvis Social Sciences Research Doctorate caroline.jarvis@stir.ac.uk
Professor Cate Watson Education cate.watson@stir.ac.uk
Cheryl Burgess Research Fellow -  Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology  cheryl.burgess@stir.ac.uk
Dr Christine Stephen Education christine.stephen@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Dalene Swanson Education dalene.swanson@stir.ac.uk
Professor Douglas Robertson Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology d.s.robertson@stir.ac.uk
Duncan Helm Social Work duncan.helm@stir.ac.uk
Helen Whincup Social Work  helen.whincup@stir.ac.uk
Helen Young Social Sciences Research Doctorate  h.l.young@stir.ac.uk
Ian McIntosh Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology  ian.mcintosh@stir.ac.uk
Joan Murphy Director of Talking Mats  joan@talkingmats.com
Joanne Westwood Social Work  joanne.westwood@stir.ac.uk
Judith Furnivall Social Sciences Research Doctorate j.m.furnivall@stir.ac.uk
Judy Warburton Social Sciences Research Doctorate j.m.warburton@stir.ac.uk
Katrina Roszynski Social Sciences Research Doctorate  k.h.roszynski@stir.ac.uk
Kirsty Primrose Social Sciences Research Doctorate kip00002@students.stir.ac.uk
Margo Mackay Talking Mats Associate  margo@talkingmats.com
Maria Fotopoulou Research Fellow, WithScotland  maria.fotopoulou@stir.ac.uk
Dr Marina Shapira Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology  marina.shapira@stir.ac.uk
Nadine Fowler Social Sciences Research Doctorate  nadine.fowler@stir.ac.uk
Nicola Yule Social Sciences Research Doctorate  nicola.yule@stir.ac.uk
Dr Nughmana Mirza Research Fellow, Social Work  nughmana.mirza@stir.ac.uk
Dr Paul Rigby Social Work  paul.rigby1@stir.ac.uk
Ruth Emond Social Work  h.r.emond@stir.ac.uk
Professor Samantha Punch Social Sciences  s.v.punch@stir.ac.uk
Sandra Engstrom Social Work  sandra.engstrom@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Wilson Social Sciences  sarah.wilson@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sian Lucas Social Work  s.e.lucas@stir.ac.uk
Tracey Hughes  Social Sciences Research Doctorate   t.l.hughes@stir.ac.uk

Recent studies have focused on the experiences of looked after children; the nature of resilience; improving responses to neglected children; decision-making and judgement of risk; food practices in residential settings.

 Find out more

 

 

© University of Stirling FK9 4LA Scotland UK • Telephone +44 1786 473171 • Scottish Charity No SC011159
Portal Logon

Forgotten login?

×