Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and UK universities designed to support students from developing Commonwealth countries to undertake postgraduate study.

The University of Stirling have been allocated 7 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships awards for the 2018-2019 academic year.  

Eligible programmes include:

MSc Environmental Management (Conservation)

MSc Financial Technology (Fintech)

MSc International Conflict and Cooperation

MSc Sustainable Aquaculture


Number of awards 7
Value Awards cover air fares, maintenance allowance and tuition fees.
Deadline April 17th 2018 (Commonwealth deadline)


The University supports the student's stipend (maintenance) allowance at the rate set by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. The Commission funds the cost of tuition fees, airfare and other allowances such as study-related travel.

More information is available at


Candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country (see list from the link above)
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/ October 2018
  • By October 2018, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

How to apply

Applicants must apply via the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's Electronic Application System (EAS), available here: and here

The deadline for applications via the EAS is 11.59pm (GMT) on April 17th 2018

Applicants are required to apply to the University for one of the eligible programmes noted above. In order to be considered for an award applicants must hold an offer of a place at Stirling.  We would recommend applying to Stirling well in advance of the April EAS deadline.  



This scholarship was added on 23/09/2013

© University of Stirling FK9 4LA Scotland UK • Telephone +44 1786 473171 • Scottish Charity No SC011159
Portal Logon