Skip header navigation

University of Stirling


Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

  • Number of awards: 7
  • Help with: Awards cover air fares, maintenance allowance and tuition fees.
  • Deadline: April 10th 2018

Background information

The University of Stirling have been allocated 7 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships awards for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Eligible courses include:

Eligibility and availability


Candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country (see list from the link above)
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/ October 2018
  • By October 2018, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

The University supports the student's stipend (maintenance) allowance at the rate set by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. The Commission funds the cost of tuition fees, airfare and other allowances such as study-related travel.

More information is available here.

How do I apply?

The deadline for applications is now April 10th 2018. The previous date was published in error we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Applicants need to first apply to the University for one of the eligible courses noted above via our application portal (a link to the portal is available on each course page). In order to be considered for an award, applicants must hold an offer of a place at Stirling.We would recommend applying to Stirling well in advance of April 10th.

Applicants must then submit a separate application using the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's Electronic Application System (EAS). This needs to be completed by April 10th (11.59pm, BST). To access the EAS click this link.

Contact us

Scroll back to the top