Skip header navigation

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Please note that all information for this scholarship was valid for 2018 applications only. Information below is available for reference only. We’ll confirm scholarships for 2019 entry once we have received all information from the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission.

Key Facts

Fee status



Postgraduate (taught)


Number of Awards


Value of Awards



ALL Commonwealth

Background information

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission awards up to £18,000 per student for Distance Learning Scholarships. This figure covers all elements of the award, including tuition fees, partnership development costs, and any residential programmes.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships support students from developing Commonwealth countries to undertake postgraduate study via distance or online learning.

The University of Stirling has the opportunity to award 14 scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Eligible courses include:

MSc in Dementia Studies (9 awards)

MSc in Global Issues in Gerontology and Ageing (5 awards)

Eligibility and availability

To apply for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates must:

  • be a citizen of or be granted refugee status from an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • be permanently and continually resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.

For the MSc in Dementia Studies eligible countries include:

  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka

For the MSc in Global Issues in Gerontology and Ageing eligible countries include:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

*Please note a maximum of 5 awards will be available for the MSc in Global Issues in Gerontology and Ageing.

How do I apply?

Applicants are required to apply to the University for one of the eligible courses noted above, before submitting a scholarship application to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. In order to be considered for an award, applicants must hold an offer of a place at Stirling.

We would recommend applying to Stirling well in advance of the May EAS deadline.

Applicants must apply for the scholarships via the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's Electronic Application System (EAS) The portal will open for these scholarships on 1st April 2018.

The deadline for scholarship applications via the EAS is 31st May 2018.

Scroll back to the top