Carnegie PhD Scholarships

Key Facts

Fee status

England, Wales, NI, Republic of Ireland, Scotland


Postgraduate (research)


See Carnegie Trust website for deadline details

Number of awards


Value of awards

Your country/region

All nationalities

Students of any nationality who have been awarded a first class honours degree from a Scottish University are eligible to apply. The University of Stirling can submit a maximum of 3 applications for consideration by Carnegie each year. Awards are made by Carnegie and no University is guaranteed an award.

Background information

The Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland offers scholarships to graduates with first class Honours undergraduate degrees from a Scottish university, who wish to pursue three years of postgraduate research leading to a PhD at a university in Scotland.

Further information can also be found on the Carnegie Trust website.

Eligibility and availability

The University of Stirling can submit three nominations in each academic year. No university is guaranteed an award and allocations are limited to quotas specified to each university.

How do I apply?

To apply for a Carnegie PhD Scholarship you must be nominated by one of the 17 eligible host organisations, each employs its own internal candidate selection process.

As a first step eligible students should contact their prospective PhD supervisor to discuss submitting an application. Please contact the Institute for Advances Studies at for further information.