All staff and research students have a home folder which is your own private space on the university network. Your home folder can be found by clicking on 'Computer' on your desktop and selecting the drive marked H which will carry your username.
This folder - commonly known as your 'H Drive' - is located on the Users share of your departmental server. If your server is \\esk then if you browse to \\esk\users you will find only your ‘My Documents’ folder. Everybody else’s private folders are invisible to you (unless they have changed the permissions on their folder to give you access). This makes for simpler navigation and greater security.
All staff have at least 50GB of server filestore quota on their home directory. Double click ‘Computer’ on your desktop and you will be able to see how much space is available in your H drive or other mapped folders. If you have been deleting unwanted files to make space but are still running out, contact the Information Centre to ask for more to be made available to you.
When your network account is set up, you will be given access to the relevant departmental shares (network folders). If you require access to any additional folders or mailboxes, you must request this access at the Information Centre via someone in your department who is authorised to sanction folder access. IS maintains a list of authorisers here. If you could email your request to the relevant departmental authoriser and ask them to forward it to the Info Centre, we will log a call to get your access set up.
If you accidentally delete a file or a folder, you can now reinstate it from up to 3 months prior to the current date yourself (without IS intervention). To do this:
right click on the folder that contained the deleted file/folder and select ‘Restore Previous versions’. You will then see different versions of your folder by date.
Pick a date for a version of the folder that precedes your deletion and double-click to open it and view the contents.
The files or folders you want back can then be dragged and dropped into your live version of the folder.
Be careful not to unintentionally overwrite existing versions of files or folders with older ones.
You can also use this feature to get back an earlier saved version of a file if, in editing it, you have removed content then saved it, and later want to get that content back.
You can access your home folder or any network folder you have permission to access from your own laptop or computer from off campus, if you have set up a Stirling VPN connection. Read more.
Follow these instructions WHILE CONNECTED TO EDUROAM ON STIRLING CAMPUS
Macs and MacBooks
please see these instructions (read 'eduroam' where it mentions 'campusnet' - new instructions coming soon):