Clinical Doctorates

two students work at desk

The course is designed to change the way you think. You are expected to make a significant difference to your clinical environment from the very beginning of the programme. Ideas and methods from other academic disciplines are applied to your own fields of expertise.

This is the ideal qualification for those who retain a clinical focus with commitment to the improvement of patient care.

Healthcare professionals on the Programme may include nurses; midwives; dieticians; genetic counsellors; occupational therapists; paramedicine; physiotherapists; speech and language therapists; sport and exercise psychologists and podiatrists.

Three awards are available: Doctor of Nursing, Doctor of Midwifery and Doctor of Professional Health Studies.

Read more about Clinical Doctorates

Doctorate Students

NameDesignationAreaEmail address
Craig Adamson Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing)

NHS Grampian

craig.adamson@stir.ac.uk

Christopher Aitchison Clinical Doctorate Student (Paramedicine)

The Scottish Ambulance Service

c.c.aitchison@stir.ac.uk

Mrs Lorraine Armstrong Clinical Academic Fellow   lorraine.armstrong@stir.ac.uk
Danika Attard PhD Student   d.m.attard@stir.ac.uk
Tina Barrows Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Highland tina.barrows@stir.ac.uk
Simon Browes Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing)  Nottingham s.a.browes1@stir.ac.uk
June Brown Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Grampian j.g.brown@stir.ac.uk  
Karen Campbell Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Napier University & Macmillan k.e.campbell@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Carolan Clinical Academic Fellow   clare.carolan@stir.ac.uk
Emma Caton Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) East Lancashire e.j.caton1@stir.ac.uk 
Campbell Chalmers Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) RNIB Campbell.chalmers@stir.ac.uk
Ross Chesham PhD Student   r.a.chesham@stir.ac.uk 
Steve Chinn PhD Student   stephen.chinn1@stir.ac.uk 
Kathleen Clarke Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing)   k.m.clarke@stir.ac.uk
Karn Cliffe Clinical Doctorate Student (Midwifery) Dublin  k.c.cliffe@stir.ac.uk
Michael Connolly PhD Student   michael.connolly1@stir.ac.uk 
Colin Crookston Clinical Doctorate Student (Paramedicine) Scottish Ambulance Service

c.j.crookston@stir.ac.uk

Suzanne Croy Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Abertay

s.r.croy@stir.ac.uk

Helen Davies  Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Aultbea and Gairloch

helen.davies1@stir.ac.uk

Francis Devine PhD Student  

f.j.devine1@stir.ac.uk

Alexandra Donkin Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) UCLH a.m.donkin@stir.ac.uk  
Nadine Dougall Lecturer   nadine.dougall@stir.ac.uk
Claire Eades Lecturer   c.e.eades@stir.ac.uk
Kirsteen Ellis Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Healthcare Improvement Scotland k.s.ellis@stir.ac.uk
Pamela Flynn PhD Student   pamela.flynn@stir.ac.uk
Nicholas Fuller PhD Student   n.w.fuller@stir.ac.uk
Carolyn Gaskell PhD Student   c.a.gaskell@stir.ac.uk
Lynda Gibbons Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Ireland Health Service l.j.gibbons1@stir.ac.uk
Lynne Gilmour PhD Student   lynne.gilmour1@stir.ac.uk 
Zamiwe Hara Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde zamiwe.hara1@stir.ac.uk 
Laura Hulse Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Highland laura.hulse@stir.ac.uk
Christopher Hartley PhD   christopher.hartley@stir.ac.uk
Caroline Hiscox Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Grampian caroline.mcquillian@stir.ac.uk
Linda Hume Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) National Autistic Society linda.hume1@stir.ac.uk
Monica Inglis Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Forth Valley monica.inglis@stir.ac.uk
Ololade Ibrahim PhD Student   o.m.ibrahim@stir.ac.uk
Julie Johnson Clinical Doctorate Student (Dietetics) NHS Highland julie.johnson1@stir.ac.uk 
Wendy Johnson Clinical Doctorate Student (Physiotherapy) NHS Lothian w.j.johnson1@stir.ac.uk 
Christopher Johnston PhD Student   c.f.johnson@stir.ac.uk
Baraah Khan PhD Student   b.a.khan@stir.ac.uk
Daniel Jones PhD Student   daniel.jones@stir.ac.uk 
Deborah Kirby Clinical Doctorate Student (Dietetics) NHS Highland deborah.kirby@stir.ac.uk
Spyridon Kokolakis PhD Student   spyridon.kokolakis@stir.ac.uk
Alexis Kyriacou PhD Student   alexis.kyriacou@stir.ac.uk
Keir Liddle PhD Student   keir.liddle@stir.ac.uk
Seonaid MacKay PhD Student   s.c.mackay@stir.ac.uk
Marianne Lind Clinical Doctorate Student (Midwifery) NHS Fife

mariannekate.macleod@stir.ac.uk

Kirstin MacGregor PhD Student   kirstin.macgregor1@stir.ac.uk 
Jacqueline Macrae Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Healthcare Improvement Scotland jacqueline.richardson@stir.ac.uk
Andriana Manta PhD Impact Student   andriana.manta1@stir.ac.uk
Donna McGowan Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Highland and Macmillan d.l.mcgowan@stir.ac.uk
Karen McMahon Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) UWS karen.mcmahon@stir.ac.uk
Fiona MacNeill PhD Student   fiona.macneill@stir.ac.uk
Martin Malcolm PhD Student   martin.malcolm@stir.ac.uk
Karen Methven Clinical Academic Fellow   k.e.methven@stir.ac.uk
Danielle Mitchell PhD Impact Student   danielle.mitchell1@stir.ac.uk
Wendy Mitchell Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde w.l.mitchell@stir.ac.uk
Andrea Mohan PhD Student   a.r.mohan@stir.ac.uk
Kenneth Murray PhD Student   k.j.murray1@stir.ac.uk 
Yvonne Murray Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) The State Hospital yvonne.murray@stir.ac.uk
Marlene Murty Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Ayrshire and Arran marlene.murty@stir.ac.uk
Avril Nicoll PhD Student   avril.nicoll@stir.ac.uk
JP Nolan Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Health Services Ireland j.n.nolan@stir.ac.uk
Sharon Oswald Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Forth Valley sharon.oswald@stir.ac.uk
Andrea Pascall PhD Student   a.m.pascall@stir.ac.uk
Linda Patterson Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Ayrshire & Arran l.f.patterson@stir.ac.uk
Vicki Price Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde vicki.price1@stir.ac.uk 
Noreen Reid Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Weldmar Hospicecare Trust, Dorset noreen.reid@stir.ac.uk
Christopher Rice Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing)   christopher.rice@stir.ac.uk

Karen Rimicans

Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) The Falkland Islands

karen.rimicans2@stir.ac.uk

Suzie Robinson-Southey

Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) King's Lynn/ YAS

s.h.robinsonasouthey1@stir.ac.uk 

Monika Rybacka Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) RNU Oxford monika.rybacka1@stir.ac.uk 
Pamela Scott Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Forth Valley pamela.scott@stir.ac.uk
Clare Sharp PhD Impact Student   clare.sharp1@stir.ac.uk
Colin Shore PhD Student    
Andrea Sinesi Research Assistant   andrea.sinesi@stir.ac.uk
Cameron Smith Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) Robert Gordon University cameron.smith1@stir.ac.uk
Joanna Smith PhD Student   joanna.smith@stir.ac.uk
Simon Taylor PhD Student   simon.taylor1@stir.ac.uk
Robert Thomson Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde robert.thomson@stir.ac.uk
Kate Toft Clinical Doctorate Student (Speech and Language Therapy) NHS Lothian katherine.toft1@stir.ac.uk 
John Veto Clinical Doctorate Student (Podiatry) NHS Lothian j.a.veto@stir.ac.uk
Ashleigh Ward Lecturer   a.l.ward@stir.ac.uk
Julie Warrender Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Grampian julie.warrender1@stir.ac.uk 
Flora Watson Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Grampian and Macmillan f.c.watson@stir.ac.uk
Jennifer Wilson Clinical Doctorate Student (Nursing) NHS Forth Valley and Macmillan jennifer.wilson@stir.ac.uk

 

© University of Stirling FK9 4LA Scotland UK • Telephone +44 1786 473171 • Scottish Charity No SC011159
Portal Logon