‌The University of Stirling was founded in 1967. A Sports Union was established in 1969 and one of its founding members was the Association Football Club. The club now has six men's teams who compete in senior and amateur leagues across Scotland and in Scottish and British University competitions. Stirling also offers talented players the opportunity to combine their study with high performance football through a scholarship programme.

Inter-University Football

1983 actionInitially, Stirling entered two teams in mid-week student competitions. This grew to three teams in the 1980s and four teams by the late 1990s. The Queen’s Park Shield is the most prestigious prize in student football in Scotland. This competition was established in 1921 when Queen’s Park Football Club, realising the value of universities as potential recruiting grounds, presented a large silver shield to the Scottish Universities’ Football Association for an annual competition. The front of the shield is solid silver. It contains an engraving of Hampden Park as it was in 1921 and is surrounded by the crests of Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow and St Andrews Universities, with a figurine of a player wearing a Queen’s Park strip standing above.

Scottish Combined Reserve League

The Club’s initial participation in non-student football was in 1971-2 in the Scottish Combined Reserve League. This consisted of reserve teams of Second Division clubs and top amateur clubs. St Mirren A, Queen’s Park Strollers, Queen of the South, Dumbarton A, Jordanhill Training College, Glasgow University and Drumchapel Amateurs were the clubs in this league. John Lambie, at that time a player with St Johnstone, coached the team. He previously played for Falkirk and went on to manage Hamilton Academical, Partick Thistle and Falkirk. The Combined Reserve League was not run the following season due to realignment of the Scottish professional leagues.

Stirling and District Amateur League

The Club entered the Stirling and District Amateur League in the late 1970s and won the Robertson Trophy in 1982-3. It continues to compete in the league, its Third XI currently in the First Division and or Fourth XI currently play in the Third Division under Stirling Colts.

1999 team

Caledonian League

The Club was a member of the Caledonian League since its inception in 1983-4 until 2012-13. During this time, the Stirling team received the W.D Wilson Good Conduct Trophy 12 times, in: 1988-89, 1991-92, 1998-99, 1999-00, 2000-01, 2001-02, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08 and 2008-09.

East of Scotland League

Stirling University joined the East of Scotland League - consisting of clubs from Edinburgh and the Borders - in 2008-09. It won the Premier Division in 2011-12 and its Second Team currently compete in the Premier Division.

Scottish Lowland Football League

‌Stirling University was one of 12 clubs selected to join the Scottish Lowland Football League from its inaugural season in 2013-2014.

Football Scholarships

‌Football Scholarships provide players with a fantastic package of training, competition and funding support alongside their studies. Stirling offers scholarships in men's and women's football as part of its highly successful International Sports Scholarship Programme.






The University of Stirling FC is sponsored by Jacamo for it's Player of the Year Awards 2016-17.

Find them at

© University of Stirling FK9 4LA Scotland UK • Telephone +44 1786 473171 • Scottish Charity No SC011159
Portal Logon