Skip header navigation

Faculty seminars

We run a regular programme of seminars within the Management School, sharing our latest research and inviting guest speakers to do the same. Take a closer look at upcoming events, and check back regularly to see the updated list of seminars taking place

Autumn 2019 Seminars

  • Accounting and Finance
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Wednesday 25th September, 3pm C.2B42 Dr Chandra Thapa, University of Strathclyde  Access to internal capital, creditor rights and corporate borrowing: Does group affiliation matters?
    Wednesday 30th October, 3pm C.2B40  Professor Robert Hudson, University of Hull Modelling Moving Average Rules and their Causes Comprehensive Evidence from Around the World
    Wednesday 6th November, 1pm C.1A71 Professor Bartosz Gebka, Newcastle University   
    Wednesday 20th November, 1pm C.2B40  Dr Leonidas Barbopoulos, Glasgow University   
    Wednesday 27th November, 1pm C.4C2 Alistair Haig, University of Edinburgh  The Potential for Machine Learning in Investment Research 
    Wednesday 4th December, 1pm TBC Dr Maria Boutchkova, University of Edinburgh   
  • Economics
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Tuesday 17th September,  2.30pm C.2B74 Dr Valeria Maria Toledo Gallegos Summarizing spatial patterns of WTP: The case of estuarine ecosystem services in Scotland.
    Tuesday 24th September, 2.30pm  C.3B31  Dr Romain Crastes di Sourd, University of Leeds True Lies: Hypothetical Bias and Deception in Stated Preference Studies.  
    Tuesday 8th October, 2.30pm 4C1  Professor George Panos, University of Glasgow Financial literacy and attitudes to cryptocurrencies. 
    Tuesday 15th October, 2.30pm C.3B31  Dr Maja Adena, Berlin Social Science Center  
    Tuesday 29th October, 2.30pm C.3B31  Dr Maria Grydaki, University of Stirling    
    Tuesday 5th November, 2.30pm C.3B31  Dr Andrea Martinangeli, Max Planck Institute for Tax and Public Finance (Munich)  
    Tuesday 12th November, 2.30pm C.3B31  Associate Professor Susana Peralta, Nova Business School   
    Tuesday 19th November, 2.30pm 4C1 Dr Kyriakos Neanidis, University of Manchester   
    Tuesday 26th November, 2.30pm   TBC  
  • Management, Work and Organisation
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Wednesday16th October, 3pm  C.2B129 Professor Philip Taylor, Strathclyde University State, Labour and Capital - A Case Study of the Amazon Fulfilment Centre 
    Monday 21th October, 3pm  C.3B31 Professor Paula McDonald, Queensland University of Technology "A great awakening with many dangers": What has the #MeToo movement achieved?
    Wednesday 30 October, 3pm C.3B31 Professor George Burt & Professor Sharon Bolton, University of Stirling Moral Economy and Sustainable Business: Re-integrating People, Planet and Profit
    Wednesday 27 November, 3pm C.4C2 Professor Ron McQuaid, University of Stirling European and other funding - some hints and suggestions
    Wednesday 4 December, 3pm C.2B39  Dr Fumi Kitagawa, University of Edinburgh Contextualising entrepreneurship capital for graduate start-ups: The interplay between university, region and general economic conditions.
  • Marketing and Retail
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Tuesday 3rd September 2019,  1pm C.2B129 Dr Arry Tanusndjaj Portfolios: Patterns in brand penetration, market share and hero product variants.
    Wednesday 11th September 2019, 1pm C.2B48  Professor Mark Tadajewski

    Habit as a Central Concept in Marketing: On ‘Bio-anatomopolitics’, Habit and the Subconscious Self

    Wednesday 30th October 2019, 10am C.3Y11  Professor Pauline McLaren Dark Dining: The Power of Horrors in a Service Experience  
    Wednesday 27th November 2019, 1pm C.1A71 Dr Bashir Saade IS and Game of Thornes: The Global between Tradition, Identity and the Politics of Spectacle  
  • SMIF - Student Managed Investment Fund
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    09/10/19, 2pm  Lecture Theatre B3 Stephen Clapham, behindthebalancesheet.com Accounting Red Flags
    30/10/19, 2pm Lecture Theatre B3 John Young, RBS Cryptocurrencies
    06/11/19, 2pm Lecture Theatre B3 Nigel Morecroft, COIF Charity Funds The Origins of Asset Management from 1700 to 1960
    13/11/19, 2pm Lecture Theatre B3 Autumn Semester SMIF Stock Pitch Event 
    20/11/19, 2pm Lecture Theatre B3 Lorna Blyth, Royal London Diversifying Your Investment Career 

Previous Seminars

  • Accounting and Finance
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Wednesday 24 April 2019, 1pm   Dr Tsakou Katerina, Swansea University  
    Wednesday 30 January 2019, 1.00pm   Dr Ronan Gallagher, University of Edinburgh    
    Wednesday 12 December 2018, 2.30pm C.3B147 Dr Eleni Chatzivgeri, Heriot-Watt University   
    Wednesday 28 November 2018, 1pm C.2B74 Dr Ejiogu Amanze, University of Leicester The Social Life of Profit within the English Social Housing Sector
    Wednesday 14 November 2018, 2pm C.2B74 Dr Maggie Chen, University of Cardiff Interpreting market inefficiency vs. irrationality using news sentiment and information entropy
    Wednesday 17 October 2018, 2.30pm Cottrell 2A19 Professor John Cotter, University College Dublin Mixed-Frequency Macro-Financial Spillovers
    Wednesday 12 September 2018, 1pm C.2B38 Professor Lee Parker, University of Glasgow  The Construction of the Efficient Office: Scientific Management, Accountability  and the Neo-Liberal State
  • Economics

     

    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Tuesday 2 April 2019, 2pm C.2B87 Dr Catherine Thomas, LSE  
    Tuesday 26 March 2019, 2pm C.2B88 Miss Antonia Schwarz, University of Sussex   
    Tuesday 19 March 2019, 2pm C.2B129 Wanda Mimra, ETH Zurich  
    Tuesday 12 March 2019, 2pm C.2X6 Professor David Stadelmann, University of Bayreuth   
    Tuesday 5 March 2019, 2pm C.2B129 Associate Professor Asa Lofgren, University of Gothenburg  
    Tuesday 26 February 2019, 2pm C.2B129 Professor Duncan McVicar, Queen's University Belfast  
    Tuesday 12 February 2019, 2pm C.4W6 Dr Athina Economou, University of Thessaly  
    Tuesday 5 February 2019, 2pm C.2X6 Dr Charles Palmer, LSE  
    Tuesday 29 January 2019, 2pm C.2X6 Dr Stephane Wolton, LSE  
    Wednesday 23 January 2019, 1.30pm Logie LT Professor Eyal Winter, The Hebrew University   Feeling Smart: Why our Emotions are More Rational than We Thnk
    Tuesday 22 January 2019, 2pm C.2X6 PhD Presentation, University of Stirling  
    Tuesday 15 January 2019, 2pm C.2B87 Ms Seyma Vahop, Strathclyde University Bayesian composite likelihood methods for large VAR models with time varying parameters and stochastic volatility. 
    Tuesday 27 November 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Anja Prummer, Queen Mary University of London TBC
    Tuesday 20 November 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Erlend Sandorf, University of Stirling TBC
    Tuesday 13 November 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Juan S. Morales, Collegio Carlo Alberto  TBC
    Tuesday 6 November 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Jaap Bos, Maastricht University  TBC
    Tuesday 30 October 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Jeremy Clark, University of Canterbury TBC
    Tuesday 16 October 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Robert Akerlof, University of Warwick  TBC
    Tuesday 9 October 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Johannes Lohse, University of Birmingham  TBC
    Tuesday 2 October 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Simeon Schudy, LMU Munich TBC
    Tuesday 25 September 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Marcel Lukas, University of Edinburgh  TBC
    Tuesday 18 September 2018, 2pm C.3A142 Vojtech Bartos, LMU Munich TBC
  • Management, Work and Organisation
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Thursday 20 June 2019, 12noon C.2B84 Professor Walter Scherrer, University of Salzburg Public - Private Partnerships and Innovation (Host: Professor Ron McQuaid)
    Friday 10 May 2019, 3.00pm C.2A9/11 Professor Gibson Burrell & Professor Karen Dale 'Building the New Academic'
    Thursday 21 March 2019, 1.30pm C.3B129 Dr Peter Mathews, University of Stirling Fix My Street! Using admnistrative data to understand neighbourhood environmental quality and coproducing analysis of 'Big Data'.
    Thursday 7 March 2019, 12noon C.2B42 Dr Robin Burrow, Cardiff University Freedom through isolation: Exploring the interplay between space, time and affect in elite kitchens
    Thursday 14 February 2019, 12noon  C.3X11 Dr Suzanne Mawson, University of Stirling Nostalgia and (re) constructions of 'home': Exploring entrepreneurial activity among Syrian refugees in the UK
    Thursday 6 December 2018, 1pm TBC Assoc Professor Greg Singh, University of Stirling Data Literacies to Build Bridges: Findings of the RSE Life in Data Research Network
    Tuesday 20 November 2018, 11am & 3pm C.3B129 & C.3X11 Professor Mark Tadajewski, University of York Workshop & In-depth Masterclass 
    Thursday 8 November 2018, 3pm C.2B40 Gerry Edgar, University of Stirling & Omid Ali Kharazmi, University of Mashhad Evaluation of Cluster Development Efficiency: Furniture and Saffron Clusters in the City of Mashhad, Iran
    Thursday 4 October 2018, 3pm C.3Y11 Lila Skountridaki, University of Stirling & Andrew Barron, University of Toulouse The role of professional values in corporate political activity: The case of lobbyists in Brussels

     

     

  • Marketing and Retail
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Wednesday 10 April 2019, 12noon   Dr Amy Goode, University of Stirling & Dr Stephanie Anderson, University of Glasgow  
    Wednesday 3 April 2019, 1pm   Dr Hayiel Hino, Ariel University   
    Wednesday 27 March 2019, 1pm   Professor Iain Black, University of Stirling  
    Wednesday 30 January 2019, 1pm   Dr Chloe Preece, Royal Halloway Visualizing Consumer Culture: A Semiotic Understanding of Interpreted Brands
    Wednesday 23 January 2019, 1pm C.2A87 Dr Teresa Pereira Heath, Nottingham University   
    Wednesday 21 November 2018, 12:30pm C.2B48 Prof Mark Tadejewski, Editor in Chief for Journal of Marketing Management Habit as a Central Concept in Marketing: On ‘Bio-anatomopolitics’, Habit and the Subconscious Self 
    Wednesday 14 November 2018, 1pm C.2B48 Dr Delia Vazquez, University of Manchester

     The influence of a second screen on TV audiences’ PSI interactions and impulse buying behaviours

    Friday 2 November 2018, 2pm C.3Y11 Prof Neil Coe, National University of Singapore TBC

    For more information on the M&R Seminar Series please email carolyn.wilson@stir.ac.uk

  • Student Managed Investment Fund (SMIF)
    When Where Speaker(s) Subject
    Wednesday 20 March, 2pm LTW1 SMIF - Student Managed Investment Fund  Stock Pitch Event 
    Wednesday 6 March, 2pm LTW1 Colin McLean, CEO of SVM Asset Management  Behavioural Investing 
    Wednesday 13 February, 2pm LTW1 Paul Hughes, Head of Investment Risk, Trading & Quantitative Analysis and Martin Currie Investment Management Decomposing Portfolio Risk
    Wednesday 16 February, 2pm LTW1 Honorary Professor Russell Napier, University of Stirling & author of The Solid Ground investment report Key Lessons from Financial History for Investors  
    Wednesday 30 January, 2pm LTW1 Jon Beckett, Author of #New Fund Order Triage of Risk
    Wednesday 28 November 2018, 2pm Lecture Theatre W1 Kim Catechis, Head of Global Emerging Markets, Martin Currie Investment Management Limited  
    Wednesday 21 November 2018, 2pm Lecture Theatre W1

    Autumn 2018 SMIF Stock Pitch Event

     

    Wednesday 14 November 2018, 2pm Lecture Theatre A3 Neil Semple, Department for International Trade Exports as a Driver of Growth - they UK Creative Industries
    Wednesday 31 October 2018, 4.30pm Lecture Theatre A3 Andy Kelly, Leadership Factory and Steve Morris, ESM Investments  Effective management, how to spot red flags and what to look for in a board.
    Wednesday 17 October 2018, 2pm Lecture Theatre W1 Kweku Adoboli, former trader at UBS  
    Wednesday 10 October 2018, 2pm Lecture Theatre A3

    Chrisoula Karatzouni, CFA, Investment Manager at Aberdeen Standard Investments, Edinburgh

    Priya Ramsden, Relationship Manager, CFA Society of the United Kingdom

    Working in the investment profession and careers in finance


    The Investment Management Certificate (IMC) and the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) qualifications 
    Wednesday 3 October 2018, 2pm Lecture Theatre W1 Dr Isaac Tabner, CFA, University of Stirling Quick Guide to Stock Picking & Pitching 

     

Scroll back to the top