Skip header navigation
×

Biological and Environmental Sciences staff directory

NameRoleEmail
Head    
Prof Alistair Jump Plant Ecology a.s.jump@stir.ac.uk
Professors    
Prof Alexandra Bayliss Archaeological Science alexandra.bayliss@stir.ac.uk
Prof Nils Bunnefeld Conservation Science nils.bunnefeld@stir.ac.uk
Prof David Copplestone Environmental Radioactivity david.copplestone@stir.ac.uk
Prof Maggie Cusack Biomineralisation maggie.cusack@stir.ac.uk
Prof Kirsty Park Conservation Ecology k.j.park@stir.ac.uk
Prof Ian Simpson Geography and Environmental Sciences i.a.simpson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Tyler Environmental Science / Deputy Dean of Faculty a.n.tyler@stir.ac.uk
Prof Nigel Willby River Ecosystems n.j.willby@stir.ac.uk
Prof Phil Wookey Ecosystem Science philip.wookey1@stir.ac.uk
Professorial Fellow
Prof Tim Whalley Cell Biology t.d.whalley@stir.ac.uk
Professors Emeritus
Prof Donald Davidson Soil Science d.a.davidson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Grant Reid Plant Biochemistry  
Prof Keith Smith Emeritus Professor  
Prof Michael Thomas Tropical and Applied Geomorphology m.f.thomas@stir.ac.uk
Associate Professors
Dr Katharine Abernethy Tropical Ecology k.a.abernethy@stir.ac.uk
Dr David Oliver Catchment Science david.oliver@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jens-Arne Subke Terrestrial Ecosystems and Env. Change jens-arne.subke@stir.ac.uk
Dr Mario Vallejo-Marin Environmental Biology mario.vallejo@stir.ac.uk
Senior Lecturers
Dr Peter Hunter Earth Observation p.d.hunter@stir.ac.uk
Dr Robert McCulloch Environmental Geography robert.mcculloch@stir.ac.uk
Dr Richard Quilliam Environmental Biology richard.quilliam@stir.ac.uk
Dr Christian Schröder Environmental Science and Planetary Exploration christian.schroeder@stir.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Tinsley Evolutionary Ecology matthew.tinsley@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Wilson Soil Science c.a.wilson@stir.ac.uk
Dr Michael Wyman Microbiology michael.wyman@stir.ac.uk
Lecturers
Dr W Paul Adderley Geoarchaeology and Env. History w.p.adderley@stir.ac.uk
Dr Phil Bartie Geospatial Technologies philip.bartie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tom Bradwell Quaternary Geologist tom.bradwell@stir.ac.uk
Dr Colin Bull River Science c.d.bull@stir.ac.uk
Dr Lynsey Bunnefeld Evolutionary Ecology lynsey.bunnefeld@stir.ac.uk
Dr Luc Bussière Evolutionary Biology luc.bussiere@stir.ac.uk
Dr Daisy Dent Tropical Ecology d.h.dent@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Dickie Energy Geography j.a.dickie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andre Gilburn Ecology andre.gilburn@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jenson Lim Applied Biological Sciences jenson.lim@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sabine Matallana-Surget Applied Biological Sciences sabine.matallanasurget@stir.ac.uk
Dr C E Timothy Paine Environmental and Ecosystems Science cp33@stir.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Petrie Applied Biological Sciences kevin.petrie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Heather Price Environmental Science / Geography heather.price@stir.ac.uk
Dr Evangelos Spyrakos Earth Observation evangelos.spyrakos@stir.ac.uk
Dr Eileen Tisdall Environmental Science e.w.tisdall@stir.ac.uk
Research Staff
Dr Jeremy Cusack Post-doctoral Research Assistant jeremy.cusack@stir.ac.uk
Dr Brad Duthie Post-doctoral Research Assistant alexander.duthie@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Greenwood Research Network Facilitator sarah.greenwood@stir.ac.uk
Dr Renée Hermans Postdoctoral researcher r.e.hermans@stir.ac.uk
Dr Kathryn Jeffery Researcher kathryn.jeffery@stir.ac.uk
Dr Francois-Xavier Joly Research Assistant francois-xavier.joly@stir.ac.uk
Dr Isabel Jones Research Assistant i.l.jones@stir.ac.uk
Dr Alan Law Researcher alan.law1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Claire Neil Research Assistant claire.neil@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jared Parnell Research Web Application Developer jared.parnell@stir.ac.uk
Dr Zarah Pattison Post-doctoral Research Assistant zarah.pattison@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sarobidy Rakotonarivo Post-doctoral Research Assistant sarobidy.rakotonarivo@stir.ac.uk
Research Fellows
Dr Stuart Auld Research Fellow ska1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Clare Bird Research Fellow clare.bird2@stir.ac.uk
Dr Adam Hayward Research Fellow adam.hayward@stir.ac.uk
Dr Elisa Fuentes-Montemayor Research Fellow elisa.fuentes-montemayor@stir.ac.uk
Dr Javier Medina-Sanchez Research Fellow javier.medina-sanchez@stir.ac.uk
Dr Jeroen Minderman Research Fellow jeroen.minderman2@stir.ac.uk
Dr Tom Parker Research Fellow t.c.parker@stir.ac.uk
Dr Albert Vila Cabrera Research Fellow albert.vilacabrera@stir.ac.uk
Dr Penelope R Whitehorn Research Fellow p.r.whitehorn@stir.ac.uk
Administration
Miss Jenny Abercrombie Administrative Assistant jenny.abercrombie@stir.ac.uk
Miss Joan Colston Administrative Assistant joan.colston@stir.ac.uk
Miss Lynn MacGregor Resource Co-ordinator lynn.macgregor@stir.ac.uk
Technical Support
Mr Ronald Balfour Stores/Procurement r.e.balfour@stir.ac.uk
Mr Stuart Bradley Field Technician stuart.bradley@stir.ac.uk
Mrs June Brand Research Technician june.brand@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Lorna English Research Technician l.c.english@stir.ac.uk
Mrs Sylvia Hodgson Laboratory Technician s.d.hodgson@stir.ac.uk
Mr Scott Jackson IT Support Scott Jackson
Mr George MacLeod Thin Section Laboratory / Safety Officer g.w.macleod@stir.ac.uk
Mr John McArthur GIS/Remote Sensing Support j.n.mcarthur@stir.ac.uk
Ms Pauline Monteith Laboratory Technician p.m.monteith@stir.ac.uk
Mr Willie Thomson Electronics Workshop w.c.thomson@stir.ac.uk
Mr Ian Washbourne Laboratory Technician ian.washbourne@stir.ac.uk
Mr James Weir Technical Manager j.n.weir@stir.ac.uk
Research Students
Allan Audsley Scotland’s Pockmarks: understanding the link between gas-escape features and buried carbon in fjordic systems allan.audsley1@stir.ac.uk
Anwen Bill Investigating the response of loch biota to the hydromorphological modifications of lochs a.r.bill@stir.ac.uk
Jim Blaikie Palaeoecological reconstruction of rapid Late-glacial – Holocene environmental change for Central Patagonia, southern South America james.blaikie@stir.ac.uk
Stéphanie Bourgeois Genetic study of forest elephants: population assignment of ivory and connectivity between National Parks stephanie.bourgeois@stir.ac.uk
Tom Bradfer-Lawrence The maintenance of tropical bird communities in human-modified landscapes tom.bradfer-lawrence@stir.ac.uk
Alice Broome Threatened woodland species: conservation policy and management alice.broome@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Sarah Buckerfield Understanding hydrological and land-use controls on microbial pollution and human health risks in the South West China karst region sarah.buckerfield1@stir.ac.uk
Emmy Burd Investigating nitrogen cycling between the marine cyanobacterium Trichodesmium and its bacterial associates e.m.burd1@stir.ac.uk
Emma Bush Determining the impact of climate change on the sustainability of tourism investment and long-term strategic planning for environmental management in Gabon. e.r.bush@stir.ac.uk
Allan Cochrane Late-glacial / Inter-glacial transition in the Northern Isles a.a.cochrane1@stir.ac.uk
Adriana Constantinescu Danube - Black sea flux of sediment a.m.constantinescu@stir.ac.uk
Anna Deasey The determinants of tree species distribution in tropical forests a.l.deasey@stir.ac.uk
Amanda-Jane Dolan Hillfort Vitrification in the Scottish Iron Age and Early Historic Period amanda.dolan@stir.ac.uk
Gavin Douglas tbc g.b.douglas1@stir.ac.uk
María Encina Aulló Maestro Development and adaptation of algorithms for the estimation of carbon budget in lakes m.e.aullomaestro@stir.ac.uk
Jonathan Fletcher Optimising Multi-Pollutant Phytoremediation Strategies to Sustainably Improve Water Quality jonathan.fletcher@stir.ac.uk
Nina Lindstrom Friggens tbc nina.lindstromfriggens1@stir.ac.uk
Jessica Goodman The effects of chronic radiation on Daphnia pulex jessica.gooman@stir.ac.uk
Matthew Guy Seabird-mediated impacts of marine environment changes on agri-ecosystem productivity matthew.guy@stir.ac.uk
Louisa Habermann Understanding Soil Fertility Legacies in Coigach-Assnt, North-West Scotland louisa.habermann1@stir.ac.uk
Robin Hayward Community composition and recruitment to selectively logged forest in Southeast Asia r.m.hayward1@stir.ac.uk
Kirsten Hazelwood Mechanisms affecting tropical tree community composition k.j.hazelwood@stir.ac.uk
Oyindamola Jackson Effect of the rhizosphere on the decomposition of organic matter constituents in forest soils o.i.jackson@stir.ac.uk
Paulo Manuel Kiala tbc p.m.kiala1@stir.ac.uk
Rebekah Mayhew The species and functional composition of bird communities in regenerating tropical forests r.j.mayhew@stir.ac.uk
David McCaughie

Sandstone Heritages: Conservation in a climate change(d) future
Assessing the future impact of climate change on sandstone broch sites in Scotland

d.c.mccaughie1@stir.ac.uk
Jennifer McKeown Sexual conflict in seaweed flies jjm@cs.stir.ac.uk
Roseanne McDonald Greenhouse Gas Release from UK Reservoirs r.k.mcdonald@stir.ac.uk
Corynne McGuire Assessing the hazard from radioactive particles in the environment corynne.mcguire@stir.ac.uk
Diana McLaren The effects of climate-induced flood events on the mobility and bioaccessibility of potentially harmful elements d.e.mclaren@stir.ac.uk
Dorothy McLaughlin Heritage Management of Earth Built Structures dorothy.mclaughlin@stir.ac.uk
Eilidh McNab How does large scale native woodland restoration affect biodiversity? e.m.mcnab1@stir.ac.uk
Francesc Ferrando Molina tbc francesc.ferrandomolina1@stir.ac.uk
Peter Morley Predicting changes in forest form and function in a tropical mountain region p.j.morley@stir.ac.uk
Lucy Nevard tbc lucy.nevard1@stir.ac.uk
Matthew Nuttall tbc m.n.nuttall1@stir.ac.uk
Christopher Orbell Ecological connectivity between Gabon’s protected areas christopher.orbell@stir.ac.uk
John Paterson tbc j.h.paterson1@stir.ac.uk
Claire Paton A catchment-based approach to determine environmental controls of Cryptosporidium transfer from land to water c.e.paton1@stir.ac.uk
Chris Pollard Linking game theory and structured decision-making for the resolution of conservation conflicts c.r.pollard@stir.ac.uk
Kenneth Porter Risk-based modelling of pathogen export from agricultural catchments under a changing climate k.d.porter@stir.ac.uk
Heather Purshouse The role of insect larvae for the sustainable management of faecal wastes in sub-Saharan Africa h.m.purshouse1@stir.ac.uk
Katherine Raines The impact of ionising radiation on bumblebees living within the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone katherine.raines@stir.ac.uk
Javier Carrillo Reche ’On-farm’ seed priming: an ecological and sustainable disease management strategy javier.carrilloreche1@stir.ac.uk
Erin Stoll Quantifying and predicting soil responses to rapid forest change in a tropical mountain region e.i.stoll1@stir.ac.uk
Tom George Scullion Investigating the direct and indirect effects of radiation in free-living birds through measurement of feather corticosterone t.g.scullion@stir.ac.uk
Alex Seeney Linkages between riparian invasive plants, hydromorphology and salmonid fish in Scottish rivers alex.seeney@stir.ac.uk
Emma Sheard Translating small scale ecological studies to large scale agricultural practices: breeding waders and grassland management e.j.sheard@stir.ac.uk
Heather Stewart Ice streaming, ice sheet deglaciation, and substrate properties, North Sea Basin, UK h.a.stewart@stir.ac.uk
Kathleen Stosch Building resilience to respond to future environmental change across Scottish catchments kathleen.stosch@stir.ac.uk
Isobel Swinscoe Exploiting insects as feed for sustainable salmon farming- identifying the risks of pathogen transfer within the production chain isobel.swinscoe@stir.ac.uk
Helen Taylor-Boyd Investigating Species Assemblages, Activity Levels and Feeding Ecology of Chiroptera Species in Anthropogenic Landscapes in Zambia h.l.taylorboyd1@stir.ac.uk
Lidia De Sousa Teixeira tbc l.p.deasousaateixeira1@stir.ac.uk
Shenglei Wang tbc shenglei.wang@stir.ac.uk
Kate Waters Assessing the use of geo-engineering and propagule loading for rapid macrophyte recovery in lakes k.e.waters@stir.ac.uk
Heidi Watson-Trant Detection and tracking of harmful algal blooms in inland waters using a virtual constellation of high-resolution satellites heidi.watsontrant1@stir.ac.uk
Robbie Whytock Assessing the effects of landscape structure on woodland birds r.c.whytock@stir.ac.uk
John Wilson Proactive Sustainable Tourism: strategies to ensure wildlife conservation and tourist satisfaction in national parks john.wilson1@stir.ac.uk
Deborah Wood Linking carbon and iron cycles by investigating transport, fate and mineralogy of iron-bearing colloids from peat-draining rivers - Scotland as model for high-latitude rivers deborah.wood@stir.ac.uk
Karen Zapata Evolution of another dimorphism and reproductive ecology of Solanum houstonii (Solanaceae) karen.zapata@stir.ac.uk
Honorary Staff
Prof Philip Boon Honorary Professor phil.boon@snh.gov.uk
Dr Jennifer Brown Honorary Research Fellow jennifer.brown@stir.ac.uk
John Calladine Honorary Research Fellow john.calladine@bto.org
Prof Geoffrey Codd Honorary Professor g.a.codd@stir.ac.uk
Dr Paul Dale Honorary Senior Lecturer pd13@stir.ac.uk
Prof Colin Galbraith Honorary Professor colin@cgalbraith.freeserve.co.uk
Dr Liz Humphries Honorary Research Fellow liz.humphreys@bto.org
Dr Fiona Maisels Honorary Research Fellow fmaisels@wcs.org
Prof Chris Quine Honorary Professor chris.quine@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Richard Tipping Honorary Research Fellow rt1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Val Turner Honorary Research Fellow val@shetlandamenity.org
Prof Michael Usher Honorary Professor m.b.usher@stir.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Watts Honorary Senior Lecturer kevin.watts@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Chris Wernham Honorary Research Fellow chris.wernham@bto.org
Dr Lee White Honorary Professor Lwhite@parcsgabon.ga
Prof Jeremy Wilson Honorary Professor jeremy.wilson@rspb.org.uk
Mark Wilson Honorary Research Fellow mark.wilson@bto.org
Scroll back to the top