Skip header navigation

Institute of Aquaculture staff directory

Breeding and Physiology Research Team

Prof Herve Migaud

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

herve.migaud@stir.ac.uk

Dr John Taylor

Breeding and Physiology

Senior Lecturer

j.f.taylor@stir.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Davie

Breeding and Physiology

Senior Lecturer

andrew.davie@stir.ac.uk

Dr Stefano Carboni

Breeding and Physiology

Lecturer

stefano.carboni@stir.ac.uk

Dr Adam Brooker

Breeding and Physiology 

Research Fellow/Researcher

a.j.brooker@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sarah-Louise Counter

Breeding and Physiology

Research Fellow/Researcher

sarah-louise.counter@stir.ac.uk

Dr Stuart McMillan

Breeding and Physiology

Research Fellow/Researcher

stuart.mcmillan@stir.ac.uk

Dr Luisa Vera Andujar

Breeding and Physiology

Research Fellow/Researcher

luisa.veraandujar@stir.ac.uk

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease Research Team

Prof Manfred Weidmann

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

w.weidmann@stir.ac.uk

Dr Mags Crumlish

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Senior Lecturer

mc3@stir.ac.uk

Dr Johanna Baily 

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Lecturer

jlb4@stir.ac.uk

Mr Alexandre Pargana

Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease

Research Fellow/Researcher

m.pargana@stir.ac.uk

 

Environmental Management Research Team

Prof Trevor Telfer 

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

c.telfer@stir.ac.uk

Dr Michael Leaver

Environmental management,

Director of Learning and Teaching

Senior Lecturer

j.leaver@stir.ac.uk

Dr Bruce McAdam

Environmental Management 

Lecturer

j.mcadam@stir.ac.uk

Dr Lynne Falconer

Environmental Management

Research Fellow/Researcher

falconer1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Susan Fitzer

Environmental Management

Research Fellow

fitzer@stir.ac.uk

Genomics and Selection Research Team 

Prof Brendan McAndrew

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

bjm1@stir.ac.uk

Dr David Penman

Genomics and Selection

Senior Lecturer

j.penman@stir.ac.uk

Dr John Taggart

Genomics and Selection

Senior Lecturer

b.taggart@stir.ac.uk

Dr Michael Bekaert

Genomics and Selection

Lecturer

mb66@stir.ac.uk

 

Immunology and Vaccinology Research Team 

Prof Sandra Adams

Head of Research Group

Senior Academic

aa2@stir.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Desbois

Immunology and Vaccinology

Lecturer

desbois@stir.ac.uk

Dr Rowena Hoare

 Immunology and Vaccinology

Research Fellow/Researcher

hoare1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sean Monaghan

Immunology and Vaccinology

Research Fellow/Researcher

j.monaghan@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Fridman

Immunology and Vaccinology

Research Fellow/Researcher

fridman@stir.ac.uk

Nutrition Research Team

Prof Brett Glencross

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

d.glencross@stir.ac.uk

Prof Douglas Tocher

Nutrition

Senior Academic

r.tocher@stir.ac.uk

Dr Oscar Monroig

Nutrition

Lecturer

monroig@stir.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Sprague

Nutrition

Research Fellow/Researcher

sprague@stir.ac.uk

Dr Monica Betancor

Nutrition

Research Fellow/Researcher

b.betancor@stir.ac.uk

Parasitology Research Team

Prof James Bron

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

e.bron@stir.ac.uk

Dr Armin Sturm

Parasitology

Senior Lecturer

sturm@stir.ac.uk

Dr Giuseppe Paladini

Parasitology

Lecturer

paladini@stir.ac.uk

Society and Technology Interface Research Team

Prof Dave Little

Head of Research Team

Senior Academic

dcl1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Francis Murray

Society and Technology Interface

Research Fellow/Researcher

j.murray@stir.ac.uk

Dr Richard Newton

 Society and Technology Interface

Research Fellow/Researcher

newton@stir.ac.uk

Mr William Leschen

Society and Technology Interface

Research Fellow/Researcher

leschen@stir.ac.uk

Welfare and Behaviour Research Team

Dr Simon MacKenzie

Head of Research Team
Director of Research

Senior Academic

mackenzie@stir.ac.uk

Prof James Turnbull

Welfare and Behaviour

Senior Academic

f.turnbull@stir.ac.uk

Dr Darren Green

Welfare and Behaviour

Senior Lecturer

green@stir.ac.uk

Dr Amaya Albalat

Welfare and Behaviour

Lecturer

albalat@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sonia Rey Planellas

Welfare and Behaviour

Research Fellow/Researcher

reyplanellas@stir.ac.uk

Research Fellows

Dr Susan Fitzer

 

fitzer@stir.ac.uk

Dr Lynn Chalmers

 

chalmers@stir.ac.uk

Dr Louise Gamble

 

gamble@stir.ac.uk

Dr Stuart McMillan

 

mcmillan@stir.ac.uk

 

Professors Emeritus

Prof Brian Austin   brian.austin@stir.ac.uk
Prof Hugh Ferguson   h.w.ferguson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Stephen George   s.g.george@stir.ac.uk
Prof Ronald Roberts    
Prof Christina Sommerville   chris.sommerville@stir.ac.uk
Prof Randolf Richards    
Prof Lindsay Ross   l.g.ross@stir.ac.uk

Honorary academic staff

Prof Doug Allan   douglas.allan@stir.ac.uk
Prof Felicity Huntingford    
Prof Andrew Mearns Sprague    
Dr Viv Crampton Fish Nutrition (EWOS)  viv.crampton@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andy Shinn Honorary Senior Lecturer in Parasitology a.p.shinn@stir.ac.uk

Technical support

Dr Kerry Bartie Technician (AquaExcel) k.l.bartie1@stir.ac.uk
Chelsea Broughton Technician (NAS) c.c.broughton@stir.ac.uk
Denny Conway Senior Technician denny.conway@stir.ac.uk
Brian Craig Technician, NACWO (Aquarium) brian.craig@stir.ac.uk
Rozely De Jong Technician (NAS) rozely.dejong@stir.ac.uk
James Dick Technical Manager: (Nutrition NAS)
Director of Facilities
j.r.dick@stir.ac.uk
Debbie Faichney Senior Technician (Histology)  d.a.faichney@stir.ac.uk
Robyn Harris Technician robyn.harris@stir.ac.uk
Charlie Harrower Senior Technician (Purchasing)  charles.harrower@stir.ac.uk
Jacquie Ireland Senior Technician (TSB)  jhi1@stir.ac.uk
Kerry Johnson Technician (NAS)  
Rachel Kay Technician (NAS) rachel.kay@stir.ac.uk
William Leschen Research Assistant william.leschen@stir.ac.uk
Jane Lewis Technician (Stores)  jel1@stir.ac.uk
Hilary McEwan Senior Technician (Immunology)  h.j.mcewan@stir.ac.uk
Elizabeth Mackinlay Senior Technician (NAS)  eem2@stir.ac.uk
Graeme McWhinnie Technician (NAS)  graeme.mcwhinnie@stir.ac.uk
Fiona Muir Senior Technician (Virology)  kfm1@stir.ac.uk
Allison Penman Technician (NAS) allison.penman@stir.ac.uk
Keith Ranson Senior Technician, NACWO (Aquarium)   k.j.ranson@stir.ac.uk
Silvere Santos Technician (Aquarium) silvere.santos@stir.ac.uk
Karen Sneddon Senior Technician (Target fish) k.e.snedden@stir.ac.uk
Fiona Strachan Senior Technician (NAS)  fm11@stir.ac.uk
William Struthers Chief Technician: Environment  w.a.struthers@stir.ac.uk
Juan Bautista Vera Perez Technician (NAS) juanbautista.veraperez@stir.ac.uk
Rona Werner Technician (Bacteriology) rona.werner@stir.ac.uk
Irene Younger Senior Technician (NAS)  irene.younger@stir.ac.uk

 

Administration

Ainars Blaudums Administrator and Financial Manager  ainars.blaudums@stir.ac.uk 
Melanie Cruickshank Financial Co-ordinator m.r.cruickshank@stir.ac.uk
Fiona McCarroll Administrator fiona.mccarroll@stir.ac.uk
Kirsten Strachan Administrative Assistant k.m.strachan@stir.ac.uk
Sandra Tulloch Administration Assistant sandra.tulloch@stir.ac.uk
Anda Wright Institute Assistant  anda.kilpatrick@stir.ac.uk
General Enquiries   aquaculture@stir.ac.uk
Postgrad Enquiries   aquaculture@stir.ac.uk

 

Buckieburn Freshwater Research Facility

Alistair MacPhee Site Manager a.m.macphee@stir.ac.uk
James Rae Hatchery Manager  james.rae1@stir.ac.uk 
Colin Forrest NACWO colin.forrest@stir.ac.uk

 

Machrihanish Marine Environmental Research Lab

Dr William Roy Manager william.roy@stir.ac.uk  
Dr David Bassett Lead Researcher  d.i.bassett@stir.ac.uk  
Simon Barnett Site Engineer simon.barnett@stir.ac.uk
Sally Boyd Senior Technician s.k.boyd@stir.ac.uk
Shannon Baikie Technician shannon.baikie@stir.ac.uk 
Chessor Matthew (NACWO) Foreman c.a.matthew@stir.ac.uk  
Scroll back to the top