Skip header navigation

University of Stirling

×

Institute of Aquaculture staff directory

Senior academics

Prof Sandra Adams Head: Immunology and Vaccinology aa2@stir.ac.uk
Prof James Bron Head: Parasitology j.e.bron@stir.ac.uk
Prof Brett Glencross Head: Nutrition b.d.glencross@stir.ac.uk
Prof Dave Little Head: Society and Technology Interface dcl1@stir.ac.uk
Prof Brendan McAndrew Head: Genomics and Selection bjm1@stir.ac.uk
Prof Herve Migaud Head: Breeding and Physiology herve.migaud@stir.ac.uk
Prof Trevor Telfer  Head: Environmental Management t.c.telfer@stir.ac.uk
Prof Douglas Tocher Head: Nutrition d.r.tocher@stir.ac.uk

Dr Simon MacKenzie

Head: Welfare and Behaviour
Director of Research
simon.mackenzie@stir.ac.uk
Prof Manfred Weidmann Head: Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease m.w.weidmann@stir.ac.uk

Professors Emeritus

Prof Brian Austin   brian.austin@stir.ac.uk
Prof Hugh Ferguson   h.w.ferguson@stir.ac.uk
Prof Stephen George   s.g.george@stir.ac.uk
Prof Ronald Roberts    
Prof Christina Sommerville   chris.sommerville@stir.ac.uk
Prof Randolf Richards    
Prof Lindsay Ross   l.g.ross@stir.ac.uk

Senior lecturers

Dr Mags Crumlish Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease mc3@stir.ac.uk
Dr Michael Leaver Environmental management, Director of Learning and Teaching m.j.leaver@stir.ac.uk
Prof James Turnbull Welfare and Behaviour j.f.turnbull@stir.ac.uk
Dr David Penman Genomics and Selection d.j.penman@stir.ac.uk
Dr John Taylor Breeding and Physiology j.f.taylor@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Davie Breeding and Physiology  andrew.davie@stir.ac.uk 

Lecturers

Dr Amaya Albalat Welfare and Behaviour amaya.albalat@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Johanna Baily  Emerging Aquatic Infectious Disease jlb4@stir.ac.uk
Dr Michael Bekaert Genomics and Selection mb66@stir.ac.uk
Dr Stefano Carboni Breeding and Physiology stefano.carboni@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Desbois Immunology and Vaccinology andrew.desbois@stir.ac.uk
Dr Darren Green Welfare and Behaviour darren.green@stir.ac.uk
Dr Bruce McAdam Environmental Management  b.j.mcadam@stir.ac.uk
Dr Oscar Monroig Nutrition oscar.monroig@stir.ac.uk
Mr Alexandre Pargana tbc a.m.pargana@stir.ac.uk
Dr Armin Sturm Parasitology armin.sturm@stir.ac.uk
Dr John Taggart Genomics and Selection j.b.taggart@stir.ac.uk
Dr Giuseppe Paladini   Parasitology giuseppe.paladini@stir.ac.uk  

Research Fellows

Dr Adam Brooker   a.j.brooker@stir.ac.uk
Dr Lynn Chalmers   lynn.chalmers@stir.ac.uk
Mr William Clark   william.clark@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sarah-Louise Counter Fish Reproduction and Genetics sarah-louise.counter@stir.ac.uk
Dr Lynne Falconer   lynne.falconer1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Susan Fitzer   susan.fitzer@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Sophie Fridman Health and Welfare sophie.fridman@stir.ac.uk 
Dr Louise Gamble   louise.gamble@stir.ac.uk
Dr Rowena Hoare   rowena.hoare1@stir.ac.uk
Dr Stuart McMillan   stuart.mcmillan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Elsbeth McStay Fish Reproduction and Genetics elsbeth.mcstay@stir.ac.uk
Dr Francis Murray Sustainable Aquaculture f.j.murray@stir.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Sprague Aquaculture Nutrition  matthew.sprague@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sonia Rey Planellas Health and Welfare sonia.reyplanellas@stir.ac.uk
Dr Sean Monaghan Health and Welfare s.j.monaghan@stir.ac.uk
Dr Richard Newton   richard.newton@stir.ac.uk
Dr Luisa Vera Andujar Fish Reproduction and Genetics luisa.veraandujar@stir.ac.uk

Honorary academic staff

Prof Doug Allan   douglas.allan@stir.ac.uk
Prof Felicity Huntingford    
Prof Andrew Mearns Sprague    
Dr Viv Crampton Fish Nutrition (EWOS)  viv.crampton@stir.ac.uk
Dr Andy Shinn Honorary Senior Lecturer in Parasitology a.p.shinn@stir.ac.uk

Technical support

Dr Kerry Bartie Technician (AquaExcel) k.l.bartie1@stir.ac.uk
Chelsea Broughton Technician (NAS) c.c.broughton@stir.ac.uk
Denny Conway Senior Technician denny.conway@stir.ac.uk
Brian Craig Technician, NACWO (Aquarium) brian.craig@stir.ac.uk
Rozely De Jong Technician (NAS) rozely.dejong@stir.ac.uk
James Dick Technical Manager: (Nutrition NAS)
Director of Facilities
j.r.dick@stir.ac.uk
Debbie Faichney Senior Technician (Histology)  d.a.faichney@stir.ac.uk
Robyn Harris Technician robyn.harris@stir.ac.uk
Charlie Harrower Senior Technician (Purchasing)  charles.harrower@stir.ac.uk
Jacquie Ireland Senior Technician (TSB)  jhi1@stir.ac.uk
Kerry Johnson Technician (NAS)  
Rachel Kay Technician (NAS) rachel.kay@stir.ac.uk
William Leschen Research Assistant william.leschen@stir.ac.uk
Jane Lewis Technician (Stores)  jel1@stir.ac.uk
Hilary McEwan Senior Technician (Immunology)  h.j.mcewan@stir.ac.uk
Elizabeth Mackinlay Senior Technician (NAS)  eem2@stir.ac.uk
Graeme McWhinnie Technician (NAS)  graeme.mcwhinnie@stir.ac.uk
Fiona Muir Senior Technician (Virology)  kfm1@stir.ac.uk
Allison Penman Technician (NAS) allison.penman@stir.ac.uk
Keith Ranson Senior Technician, NACWO (Aquarium)   k.j.ranson@stir.ac.uk
Silvere Santos Technician (Aquarium) silvere.santos@stir.ac.uk
Karen Sneddon Senior Technician (Target fish) k.e.snedden@stir.ac.uk
Fiona Strachan Senior Technician (NAS)  fm11@stir.ac.uk
William Struthers Chief Technician: Environment  w.a.struthers@stir.ac.uk
Juan Bautista Vera Perez Technician (NAS) juanbautista.veraperez@stir.ac.uk
Rona Werner Technician (Bacteriology) rona.werner@stir.ac.uk
Irene Younger Senior Technician (NAS)  irene.younger@stir.ac.uk

Administration

Ainars Blaudums Administrator and Financial Manager  ainars.blaudums@stir.ac.uk 
Melanie Cruickshank Financial Co-ordinator m.r.cruickshank@stir.ac.uk
Fiona McCarroll Administrator fiona.mccarroll@stir.ac.uk
Kirsten Strachan Administrative Assistant k.m.strachan@stir.ac.uk
Sandra Tulloch Administration Assistant sandra.tulloch@stir.ac.uk
Anda Wright Institute Assistant  anda.kilpatrick@stir.ac.uk
General Enquiries   aquaculture@stir.ac.uk
Postgrad Enquiries   aquaculture@stir.ac.uk

Stirling Aquaculture

John Bostock Manager and Senior Consultant  j.c.bostock@stir.ac.uk
Iain Gatward    
David Scott    
David Currie    
Malcolm Dickson    
Trevor Meyer    
Jonathan Grubb    

Buckieburn Freshwater Research Facility

Alistair MacPhee Site Manager a.m.macphee@stir.ac.uk
James Rae Hatchery Manager  james.rae1@stir.ac.uk 
Colin Forrest NACWO colin.forrest@stir.ac.uk

Machrihanish Marine Environmental Research Lab

Dr William Roy Manager william.roy@stir.ac.uk  
Dr David Bassett Lead Researcher  d.i.bassett@stir.ac.uk  
Simon Barnett Site Engineer simon.barnett@stir.ac.uk
Sally Boyd Senior Technician s.k.boyd@stir.ac.uk
Shannon Baikie Technician shannon.baikie@stir.ac.uk 
Chessor Matthew (NACWO) Foreman c.a.matthew@stir.ac.uk  
Scroll back to the top