Skip header navigation


The Directors for the Centre for Gender and Feminist Studies are Karen Boyle (Professor of Feminist Media Studies) and Kirstein Rummery (Professor of Social Policy). Their Joint Directorship speaks to the inter-disciplinary focus of the Centre which seeks to bring together scholars across the University who are undertaking work on gender and feminist issues. A full list of affiliated colleagues is provided below and gives some sense of the diverse areas in which we can offer expert postgraduate supervision at both taught and research levels.

The Centre also provides an inter-disciplinary home for the MLitt/MSc in Gender Studies (Applied). These programmes were the brainchild of Alison Jasper (Religious Studies) and Dee Amy-Chinn (Communications, Media and Culture), who have both worked on gender and feminist issues inside – and outside – the academy for many years. Keen to see Stirling harness its range of expertise on gender and develop as a centre of excellence for those who want to undertake advanced study on gender and sexuality, Dee and Alison initiated the Gender Studies programme. Sadly, Dee retired on health grounds just as the Centre for Gender and Feminist Studies was established. Following Dee's death in 2015, the Dr Dee Amy-Chinn Scholarship was launched.




Karen Boyle Director
Alison Jasper Founder and Senior Lecturer in Religious Studies
Kirstein Rummery Director
Elizabeth Anderson Impact Research Fellow
Suzy Angus Senior Teaching Fellow
Andrea Baumeister Senior Lecturer Politics
Kim Barker Lecturer in Law  
Bethan Benwell Senior Lecturer in English Studies
Chiara Bernardi Lecturer in Digital Media
Susan Berridge Lecturer Communications, Media and Culture
Sharon Bolton Professor, Stirling Management School
Adelina Broadbridge Senior Lecturer Management Work and Organisation
Rowan Cruft Lecturer
Nicola Cunningham Lecturer in Health Sciences  
Brigid Daniel Professor Social Work
Ann Davies Chair in Spanish Studies
Fiona Dobbie Research Fellow in Social Marketing  
Sandra Engstrom Lecturer in Social Work
Christine Ferguson Professor in English Studies
Fiona Harris Senior Lecturer in NMAHP Research  
Richard Haynes Professor, Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Alenka Jelen-Sanchez Lecturer in Communications, Media and Culture  
Cristina Johnston Senior Lecturer in French
Katharina Lindner Lecturer Communications, Media and Culture
Philippa Lovatt Lecturer in Communications, Media and Culture
Barbara Leonardi Research Assistant, English Studies  
Peter Matthews Senior Lecturer, Social Policy and Criminology
Kathryn Mackay Lecturer Social Work
Margaret Malloch Reader Sociology/Social Politics and Criminology
Bill Marshall Professor Comparative Cultural Studies and French
Gill McIvor Professor in Criminology
Sarah Neely Senior Lecturer Communications, Media and Culture
Guillermo Olivera Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies
Tessa Parkes Senior Lecturer in Health Studies  
Samantha Punch Professor in Sociology/Social Politics and Criminology
Irene A Reid Lecturer in Sports Studies
Nicola Ring Senior Lecturer in Health Sciences  
Madhu Satsangi Senior Lecturer in Housing Studies
Carron Shankland Professor of Computing Science
Claire Squires Professor in Publishing Studies  
Ashleigh Ward Lecturer in Health Sciences  
Dalene Swanson Senior Lecturer, Education
Helen Whincup Teaching Fellow Social Work CPD
Sarah Wilson Senior Lecturer Applied Social Science
Scroll back to the top