Social Surveys and Social Statistics

The research focus of this group is the analysis of social survey datasets.  There is an emphasis on detailed empirical research that is theoretically informed. Members of the group employ rigorous social science methods of data analysis in the pursuit of internationally excellent social science outputs.  There is a broad spectrum of substantive social science topics and issues currently under investigation for example social stratification, ethnicity, social identity, citizenship, social capital, social networks, housing and social inclusions and exclusion.

There is also a strong methodological strand within the group. The major emphasis is on the application and interpretation of statistical models. A particular focus relates to issues surrounding 'data management' for large and complex social survey datasets, such as approaches to linking together datasets, and issues in operationalising complex measures, such as based upon occupational data, or data about the social connections between people.

Professor Paul Lambert, Leader, Social Surveys and Social Statistics Research Group

Member

Area

Email

Alana McGuire

Faculty of Social Sciences

Alana.mcguire@stir.ac.uk

Dr Alasdair Rutherford

Faculty of Social Sciences

alasdair.rutherford@stir.ac.uk

Dr Alison Dawson

Faculty of Social Sciences

a.s.f.dawson@stir.ac.uk

Camilla Barnett

Faculty of Social Sciences

c.c.barnett@stir.ac.uk

Dr Daniel Sage

Faculty of Social Sciences

daniel.sage@stir.ac.uk  

Dr Dave Griffiths

Faculty of Social Sciences

david.griffiths@stir.ac.uk

Diarmuid McDonnell

Faculty of Social Sciences

diarmuid.mcdonnell@stir.ac.uk 

Dr Feifei Bu

Faculty of Social Sciences

feifei.bu@stir.ac.uk

Jade Hooper

Faculty of Social Sciences

jade.hooper@stir.ac.uk

Jennifer Ferguson

Faculty of Social Sciences

Jennifer.ferguson1@stir.ac.uk

Kane Needham

Faculty of Social Sciences

kane.needham@stir.ac.uk

Dr Madhu Satsangi

Faculty of Social Sciences

madhu.satsangi@stir.ac.uk

Madalina Radu

Faculty of Social Sciences

 

Dr Marina Shapira

Faculty of Social Sciences

marina.shapira@stir.ac.uk

Michael Wilson

Faculty of Social Sciences

m.d.wilson@stir.ac.uk

Nur Azam Perai

Faculty of Social Sciences

n.b.perai@stir.ac.uk

Dr Orian Brook

Faculty of Social Sciences

orian.brook@stir.ac.uk

Paul Henery

Faculty of Social Sciences

p.m.henery@stir.ac.uk

Professor Paul Lambert

Faculty of Social Sciences

paul.lambert@stir.ac.uk

Dr Steve Rolfe

Faculty of Social Sciences

steve.rolfe1@stir.ac.uk

Tom Wallace

Faculty of Social Sciences

tom.wallace@stir.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Best

Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport

catherine.best2@stir.ac.uk

Professor David Bell

Stirling Management School

d.n.f.bell@stir.ac.uk

Elizabeth Lemmon

Stirling Management School

elizabeth.lemmon1@stir.ac.uk

Professor Margaret Maxwell

Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport

margaret.maxwell@stir.ac.uk

Nadine Dougall

Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport

nadine.dougall@stir.ac.uk

Professor Ron Mcquaid

Stirling Management School

ronald.mcquaid@stir.ac.uk

Dr Susan Murray

Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport

susan.murray1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Tony Robertson

Faculty of Health Sciences and Sport

tony.robertson@stir.ac.uk

Dr Alan Marshall

University of St Andrews

 

Dr Christopher Playford

University of Edinburgh

 

Janet Lowe

University of Dundee

 

Dr Kevin Ralston

University of Edinburgh

 

Professor Mark Tranmer

University of Manchester

 

Michelle McLung

Glasgow City Council

 

Dr Michael Comerford

University of Glasgow

 

Dr Nissa Finney

University of St Andrews

 

Dr Richard Zijdeman

International Institute of Social History

 

Dr Robert Blackburn

University of Cambridge

 

Dr Roxanne Connelly

University of Warwick

 

Professor Vernon Gayle

University of Edinburgh

 

 

 

'All hands seminar days'

The research group hold a number of regular events. 'All hands seminar days' usually take place every 6 months  and involve a series of presentations from members of the group, typically on an aspect of their research in progress. In addition, the group hold infrequent 'reading groups' on topics related to social statistics, and the group run occasional invited research seminars given by external colleagues. Dissemination of forthcoming events is usually by email circulation - contact the research group leader if you are interested in being included in the dissemination list. Some selected documents from previous events run by the group are archived below.

13 January 2014 All hands research seminar day
23 June 2014 All hands research seminar day
1 December 2014 All hands research seminar day
23 June 2015 All hands research seminar day
11 January 2016 All hands research seminar day
12 April 2016 All hands research seminar day
30 November 2016 All hands research seminar day

 

© University of Stirling FK9 4LA Scotland UK • Telephone +44 1786 473171 • Scottish Charity No SC011159
Portal Logon