Public Services and Governance Research Group

The Public Service and Governance research group brings together scholars from the Faculty of Social Sciences and the University of Stirling providing cutting-edge research on public service change, reform and leadership. The research groups innovates in empirical, methodological and theoretical contributions to the challenges that public service face across the globe. The current research priorities of the group are:

  • Place-making, place-keeping and place-based service delivery;
  • Co-production with service users and communities;
  • Co-production of research with policy customers and communities;
  • Digital citizenship and new methods of engagement;
  • Workforce change and development, and leadership, across all public services

In our teaching we deliver high-quality professional education across all areas of the Faculty, as well as offering practical ways for organisations to benefit from student projects and research. In our research we offer knowledge exchange across sectors, as well as providing leading research of immediate use and benefit to public sector organisations.

Dr Peter Matthews, Leader, Public Services and Governance Research Group

Twitter @StirlingPSG

Name 

Subject area

Contact

Dr Peter Matthews (research group lead)

Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology 

peter.matthews@stir.ac.uk

Professor Isobel Anderson                       

Housing Studies                         

isobel.anderson@stir.ac.uk                           

Professor Alison Bowes

Sociology

 a.m.bowes@stir.ac.uk

Ms Rebecca Campbell

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

rebecca.campbell@stir.ac.uk

Mr Guy Couper

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 

Dr Sandra Engstrom

Social Work 

 sandra.engstrom@stir.ac.uk

Ms Jennifer Galbraith

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 jeg00016@students.stir.ac.uk

Dr Dave Griffiths

Social Work

 david.griffiths@stir.ac.uk

Ms Nanayakkara Saminda Gunasinghe

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 npg1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Sian Lucas

Social Work

 s.e.lucas@stir.ac.uk

Ms Kathryn Mackay

Social Work

 k.j.mackay@stir.ac.uk

Dr Vikki McCall 

Housing Studies

vikki.mccall1@stir.ac.uk

Ms Frances Patterson

Social Work CPD

 m.f.patterson@stir.ac.uk

Professor Douglas Robertson

Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology

d.s.robertson@stir.ac.uk

Ms Christine Robinson

Research postgradute, Social Sciences

clr3@stir.ac.uk

Mr Steve Rolfe

 Housing Studies

 steve.rolfe1@stir.ac.uk

Professor Kirstein Rummery

Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology

kirstein.rummery@stir.ac.uk

Dr Alasdair Rutherford

Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology

   alasdair.rutherford@stir.ac.uk

Dr Madhu Satsangi

Housing Studies

madhu.satsangi@stir.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Sherwood-Johnson

Social Work

 f.c.sherwood-johnson@stir.ac.uk

Mr Richard Simmons

Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology

r.a.simmons@stir.ac.uk

Mr Will Smith

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 w.r.smith@stir.ac.uk

Ms Diane Theakstone

 Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

d.d.theakstone2@stir.ac.uk

Mr Tom Wallace

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 tom.wallace@stir.ac.uk

Ms Judy Warburton

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 j.m.warburton@stir.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Westwood

Social Work

 joanne.westwood@stir.ac.uk

Associate Members

Name 

Subject area

Contact

Mr Stewart Black                                    

Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology

 stewart.black@stir.ac.uk                             

Professor Paul Cairney

Politics

 p.a.cairney@stir.ac.uk

Ms Julie Christie

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 julie.christie@stir.ac.uk

Professor Richard Edwards

Education

 r.g.edwards@stir.ac.uk

Professor Tara Fenwick

Education

 tara.fenwick@stir.ac.uk

Ms Jennifer Hoolachan

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences 

 j.e.hoolachan@stir.ac.uk

Professor Walter Humes

Education

 walter.humes@stir.ac.uk

Mr Diarmuid McDonnell

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 diarmuid.mcdonnell@stir.ac.uk

Professor Ronald McQuaid

Work and Employment

 ronald.mcquaid@stir.ac.uk

Ms Catherine Pemble

Research postgraduate, Social Sciences

 catherine.pemble@stir.ac.uk

Professor Cate Watson

Education

 cate.watson@stir.ac.uk

Professor William Webster

Management

 william.webster@stir.ac.uk

Dr Ben Williamson

Education

 ben.williamson@stir.ac.uk

Commonhealth: Housing through social enterprise

The Housing through Social Enterprise project aims to explore the potential health impacts of social enterprise in the housing/homelessness field, as part of the broader Commonhealth research programme. Over a 2.5 year period, the research will follow a group of tenants of Homes for Good, a Glasgow-based social enterprise, as well as a comparator group of people using other routes to move away from homelessness or the risk of homelessness. The project is led by Professor Isobel Anderson, with the practical research being carried out by Steve Rolfe and colleagues from Glasgow Centre for Population Health.

SmartGov: Smart Governance for Sustainable Cities

SmartGov is an Economic and Social and Social Research Council funded project with the University of Utrecht, Netherlands, and Fundação Getúlio Vargas, Brazil. Professor Douglas Robertson, Faculty of Social Sciences, along with Professor William Webster, Stirling Management School, are leading research in Glasgow aiming to advance collaborative governance between citizens and governments for sustainable urban development.

Read more about our research projects here.

Scottish Civil Society Data Partnership

The Scottish Civil Society Data Partnership is a collaboration between the Universities of Stirling and St Andrews and the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO). Funded by the ESRC as part of their investment in the Big Data Network, the partnership aims to improve the availability of administrative data about Civil Society Organisations (CSOs), to help these organisations to make better use of the data that they collect, and to facilitate collaborations between academics, CSOs and public sector organisations.

Working together: Improving housing outcomes for the ex-Services community.

This two-year project is being funded by the Forces in Mind Trust.  The study aims to examine how service providers can improve collaborative working, to meet the housing needs of those leaving the armed forces and the wider ex-service community.  The research will use case studies of organisations from the public and third sector to review existing evidence and develop new research to improve collaborative working.  The project is being led by Dr. Christine Robinson and supervised by Professor Isobel Anderson.

‌This section provides short summaries of our research findings.

Policy Briefing 1 - Preventative Spend

Policy Briefing 2 – Choice-based Lettings

This section provides reports from our research projects.

Doing and evaluating community research - A process and outcomes approach for communities and researchers

Hard to Reach or Easy to Ignore - Public Services and Governance Policy Briefing

 

© University of Stirling FK9 4LA Scotland UK • Telephone +44 1786 473171 • Scottish Charity No SC011159
Portal Logon

Forgotten login?

×