Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships supports talented students from developing Commonwealth countries to undertake postgraduate study at a distance or via online learning.

Key facts

Fee status

International (including EU)

Your country/region

Commonwealth excluding UK


Postgraduate (taught)

Number of awards


Value of awards

Covers all course fees


Deadline for the current round of applications has passed. We're waiting on funding confirmation for the next round.

The Commonwealth Distance Learning programme is one of three Master’s programmes offered by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission.

The University of Stirling can award four distance learning scholarships for our MSc in Dementia Studies (online). No attendance at the University of Stirling is required.

Awards information

This covers all elements of the award, including tuition fees, partnership development costs, and any residential programmes.

Eligibility and availability

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
  • Be unable to afford to study the programme without this scholarship.

Eligible Commonwealth countries

A list of countries eligible for the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships is available on the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission's website.

How to apply

Applicants are required to apply to the University for the MSc Dementia Studies before submitting a scholarship application to Commonwealth Scholarships.

In order to be considered for an award, applicants must hold an unconditional offer of a place on MSc Dementia Studies at the University of Stirling before the Commonwealth closing date.

Each participating UK University will conduct its own recruitment process to select a specified number of candidates for Distance Learning Scholarships. Universities must put forward their selected candidates to the CSC by 9 May 2023.

The CSC will then confirm that these candidates meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme and universities will inform candidates of their results in July 2023.